Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Can I run pool without filter? As in temp. eliminating filter for a few days?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Auburndale, fl
    Posts
    18

    Can I run pool without filter? As in temp. eliminating filter for a few days?

    Where I connect the tie rod to screw down my Hayward c1200 filter, the bottom screw area is stripped. I couldn't get it to screw down at all, so my pool has been down for a day now. I have had this pool for almost 3 years now (bought house with pool 3 years ago anyways), but I never ran into anything like this. I ordered a new filteronline (c1200) for $294, instead of going to pinch a penny and spending $475 on one. The only thing is that it will take a few days to get here. Can I completely remove the filter and just run a straight 1 1/2" coupler on each side with 1 1/2" pipe, where the filter was, just to keep the pool cycling with chlorine till the new filter gets here? I'm still learning, so I'm hoping to get advice before I go and do something dumb that will cost me more money. I actually went and bought the stuff to do that, but I figured I'd probably be best asking first before I do it.


    I know there are repair kits for the stripped area of the filter, but I don't know how old the filter is, so I just bought a new one. It looks pretty old, so I figured that would be the best scenario for me.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad zea3's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Houston, Texas
    Posts
    9,201

    Re: Can I run pool without filter? As in temp. eliminating filter for a few days?

    Hi, welcome to TFP! Yes, you could do that. If you use liquid chlorine you could pour it in, run the pump about 1/2 an hour and then shut it off. Just make sure the skimmer basket is in place so you don't suck any large debris into the system. Do this daily until the new filter is installed.
    TFP Moderator
    Helpful links: TF Test Kits,TFP Pool School, PoolMath
    Vogue 21' round AG, Pentair 1 hp 2 speed pump, 36 sq ft DE filter, Hayward S180T 150# sand filter, Houston, Texas
    Love TFP? Become a
    TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Auburndale, fl
    Posts
    18

    Re: Can I run pool without filter? As in temp. eliminating filter for a few days?

    Quote Originally Posted by zea3 View Post
    Hi, welcome to TFP! Yes, you could do that. If you use liquid chlorine you could pour it in, run the pump about 1/2 an hour and then shut it off. Just make sure the skimmer basket is in place so you don't suck any large debris into the system. Do this daily until the new filter is installed.
    Thanks so much! Going to do it now!

  4. Back To Top    #4

    TFP Guide

    Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Hudson, WI
    Posts
    2,602

    Re: Can I run pool without filter? As in temp. eliminating filter for a few days?

    Welcome to the forum

    +1 with Zea3
    '70s IG Vinyl 32K gal, Lazy L, Hayward SuperPump 1.5hp 120V, S240 Sand Filter W/DE
    Solar Blanket, Well Water, Borax Added, TF-100 tester. ? too cold
    1979, 275gal Conway Emerald Spa P-100-2, ES-2 Spa Pack, bromine floater, indoor
    TF-100, Best test kit - TFTestkits.net
    Please help keep the lights on, become a TFP Supporter!

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Auburndale, fl
    Posts
    18

    Re: Can I run pool without filter? As in temp. eliminating filter for a few days?

    Quote Originally Posted by kiss4afrog View Post
    Welcome to the forum

    +1 with Zea3
    Thanks guys.

    Took about 10 minutes to hack off the pvc pipes connected to the filter, then to prime, glue and install the new 1 1/2" pvc pipe. Works great right now. I just hope I did enough to keep the water from turning real green on me.


    I'm definitely going to have to look into the forums more. A newbie like me could always use help! Thanks again!

    - Eddie

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Auburndale, fl
    Posts
    18

    Re: Can I run pool without filter? As in temp. eliminating filter for a few days?

    Well, I ordered the replacement and got it, but haven't installed it yet. The only reason I haven't done so yet is because my brother in law said he would give me one for free. He came and dropped it off today and it's a Big Bubba Filter BBH-150. I'm hoping it's a good one (looks nice) so I can send the other one back. I might have to pay $30-$40 to send the other one back, but I think it's worth it. I'll go and check the forums to see if I can get any input about the Bubba filter.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    sargent's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Tulsa, OK
    Posts
    291

    Re: Can I run pool without filter? As in temp. eliminating filter for a few days?

    Make sure that Big Bubba does not have the activated carbon filter cartridge.
    14k gal IG vinyl, Jandy Flopro 1 hp up-rated, 2 spd pump, Hayward 325 sq ft cartridge filter, Circupool Si-40 SWCG

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Antioch, Ca
    Posts
    18

    Re: Can I run pool without filter? As in temp. eliminating filter for a few days?

    One thing you can do when running the pump without filtration is to place a one gallon nylon paint strainer or skimmer sock in the skimmer basket. That would a nice temporary job of filtering out the smaller stuff that normally would get through your basket and into the pump while your filter is down. Home Depot has 'em in the paint isle. I use them year around and I can't recommend them enough.
    26k Gunite freeform pool w/spa, Pentair CCP520, Pentair Mastertemp heater, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Dolphin Oasis Z5


    Bob

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Auburndale, fl
    Posts
    18

    Re: Can I run pool without filter? As in temp. eliminating filter for a few days?

    Of these filters, which should I get?

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Auburndale, fl
    Posts
    18

    Re: Can I run pool without filter? As in temp. eliminating filter for a few days?

    bump

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: Can I run pool without filter? As in temp. eliminating filter for a few days?

    The 5 or the 20 micron, whichever you prefer. Some vague memory tells me that 5 microns is equal to DE, 20 is about what a sand filter filters.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •