Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Pool Pump Replacement Help needed

1. Back To Top    #1

Pool Pump Replacement Help needed

This is the first time I have posted to TFP. I am a pool novice and have received so much good advice and guidance from many TFP articles and forums that I thought it was time to finally post a question myself. My current pump is a Hayward Superpump with a 3/4HP, Single Speed motor with 115V. I run it 24x7. The pump was here when I moved to this house 3yrs ago and by the looks of it, is pretty old. It is leaking bad again and I think it's time to replace it. I would think moving to a 2 speed Superpump or Superflo would be good so that I can obtain additional cost savings over a single speed. My utility rate is only .099/kWh though. My pool is a 25K gal IG pool w/2 returns, a main drain in the deep end and a skimmer in the shallow. Piping is 1.5.

Any and all help/recommendations on what to buy is appreciated. My breaker is completely full so I would like to stay at 115V.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Pool Pump Replacement Help needed

Welcome to TFP!!!

Finding 115V 2-speed pumps is a little challenging as only the smallest are not 230V. You would have to find a Superflo 3/4HP 2-speed or a similar Hayward (not sure what they offer in that voltage).

Where is the pump leaking? It might be cheaper and easier to just get a new 2-speed motor for your existing pump and replace all the seals with a "go-kit".
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

I am not sure as I can't see the leak. I presume its leaking from the bottom.

4. Back To Top    #4

TFP Guide