First time SLAM-ing, question about CH.

Aug 6, 2014
Pearland, TX
I have had some MPV issues I just got fixed recently. My pool is very green (bright and milky), and I am brand new to the BBB & SLAM stuff. My signature has my pool details and I'll attach my test results (I am lacking a FAS_DPD test but have everything else test wise) I have the following supplies: New: Baking Soda, Liquid Chlorine, DE, Natural Chemistry Instant Pool Conditioner, Left over from using the pool stores recommendations: Muriatic Acid (Liquid) Leslie's Power Powder Plus Shock (Calcium Hypochlorite) , Leslie's 3 in Triclor Tabs (Trichloro-S-Triazinetrione),Natural Chemistry Pool Perfect + Phosfree. I plan to order online the Borax, but can not seem to locate it locally so far (checked Walmart and home-depot)., except Borax, which I can't find locally)

I know from other recommendation on this forum I need to bring my pH down to 7.2 before SLAM, and that at least while on a SLAM that my CYA is ok to be on the lower end. What I don't know is how it can effect the CH. I ran the test twice and still got an oddly low CH. Should I go ahead and lower pH and start slam, or raise CH before dealing with pH and SLAM? I just don't know where to start on this and I don't want to damage my pool.

test 1.jpg

Since you have Cal Hypo, you can use that to start the SLAM and raise the CH at the same time. Use PoolMath to determine how much CH is added with each dose.

As an aside, even tho adding CH can sometimes cause cloudy water, it will probably not be noticeable since the pool is already cloudy and green.

So, now you can adjust the pH first and start the SLAM process.

You will most likely not need borax or baking soda.