Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Chlorine and pH relationships. Chem experts knowledge?

1. Back To Top    #1

Chlorine and pH relationships. Chem experts knowledge?

OK, so I am a newbie. But, I’m ignorant of pH within Chlorine relationships.
    I can find very much data here on Chlorine/CYA, but what about pH?
    Basically without getting too technical……haha, (I’ve read Chem Geeks articles) I am
    trying to figure out the effectiveness of Chlorine at different pH levels.

I am at the understanding that pH has relatively no affect on Chlorines ability to
    kill algae and organisms, is this correct?
    Weather a pool has a pH of 6 or a pH of 8, it should not make any difference on how well a maintained Chlorine level of 10 should be at destroying organisms, is this correct?

I know about TA and pH relationships, and I am not asking about that.

So, I guess the only real difference is that Chlorine out gasses at a higher pH than a lower pH? But it is not negligible to affect during a slam? Would a person use more Chlorine at a pH of 8 than a pH of 6 during a slam?

I am only asking to gain knowledge, not argue. Sorry for earlier comments in someone else help thread, I thought I had learned stuff here but am only learning I need to learn more.
    21' x 54" AGP Heritage 12,000 gallons.
    Hayward Power-Flo Matrix SP15922S 2 Speed 1 HP
    Hayward Pro-Series S244T 24"
    My SLAM Another swamp, is it worth it? Drain or gain?

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Chlorine and pH relationships. Chem experts knowledge?

In a pool with zero CYA, chlorine is more effective at lower pH, but this relationship is much less with CYA in the water to point of being irrelevant.

Recommended pH range is based on preventing damage to the pool and equipment and eye comfort.
    TFP Method Advanced Intermediate