Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New Pool balancing chemicals

1. Back To Top    #1

New Pool balancing chemicals

I've been doing TFP for a few years with our previous pool, but somehow I still second guess myself. I'd just like a fresh set of eyes to check that I'm doing things right.
    We just moved and built new pool, which was filled 11 days ago. I know there will be fluctuations for a while due to new plaster curing so for now, I will post my last two results (with TF-100).
    Yesterday 8:30am
    CC - 0
    FC - 2 (added 160 oz of 8.2% bleach)
    Ph - 7.2 (I've been adding MA for the last week to keep it between 7.2 & 7.5 and it seems like it finally stopped creeping up).
    TA - 100 (also has been dropping slowly with the balancing of Ph, it was 130 last week)
    CH - 110 (added 5lb of hardness plus yesterday, in three increments in a span of 2 hours)

Today's results stayed the same (chlorine is not holding up) but CH did go up to 170.
    Questions:
    -Normal that chlorine is dropping this much?
    -Do I keep raising the CH until I reach 250? Or do I focus on lowering TA?

Thank you!!
    Built in 2014, 18,000gal, plaster, in ground, Pentair Clean & Clear Plus 2.0 HP, Booster Pump, Cartridge filters, inline chlorinator, automatic cleaner, Pentair MasterTemp 400 heater, Silencer for SPA.
    Bloody hot summers in Katy, TX; the rest of the year is just plain hot!

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: New Pool balancing chemicals

Quote Originally Posted by mvoorn View Post
    Today's results stayed the same (chlorine is not holding up) but CH did go up to 170.
    Questions:
    -Normal that chlorine is dropping this much?
    Have you added CYA/Stabilizer? With a fresh fill and none added the sun is going to burn off the FC in a few hours