Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Do I need extra skimmers and return lines?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Allen, TX
    Posts
    67

    Do I need extra skimmers and return lines?

    I just bought an inground pool, kidney shaped, I would post a link to it but not sure if it is allowed. Anyway, it is 28' x 16' and 4' deep. It has one skimmer, and one return line. I was wondering if that is enough for this pool. This pool is about 350 sqft, and I've read that one skimmer is per 500 sqft is enough. Not sure if one return line is enough, and/or if I would benefit from one or two extra return lines. There is no main drain also.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Do I need extra skimmers and return lines?

    Welcome to TFP!!!

    Of course pictures are allowed ... we love to see them

    One skimmer should be plenty, although only having one return line is pretty limited. A couple more could improve the circulation, although I am not sure it would be worth the substantial financial cost to add them.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,052

    Re: Do I need extra skimmers and return lines?

    My pool is 44,000 gallons and only has one skimmer.
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Allen, TX
    Posts
    67

    Re: Do I need extra skimmers and return lines?

    Oh, cost would not be an issue, since I am doing work myself. I just need to cut the wall opening for a new return line inlet. To clarify, this is an above ground/ inground pool. Where would I position second one, since the first one is close to the skimmer. Would I place it on the other end of the pool and at what height? Same height as the other one?

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,052

    Re: Do I need extra skimmers and return lines?

    Well, technically you didn't clarify. You said it is above ground and in ground at the same time.
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Chapin, SC
    Posts
    1,141

    Re: Do I need extra skimmers and return lines?

    Other end diagonally same height unless you know of a way to get your water level at an incline . Wouldn't hurt to have another return line pointed in the direction of the skimmer. I have 4 return lines and 2 skimmers. Only 1 return line is on the same side of the pool as the skimmer and that's for my cleaner connection. The other 3 are 2 in the shallow end and one in the deep end.
    Last edited by timerguy; 08-04-2014 at 03:04 PM. Reason: hate this tablet keyboard
    Pool size: 24000gal inground Vinyl-Taylor k-2006 and k-1766 test kits and-speed stir
    Intermatic P1353ME digital timer w/freeze sensor
    CircuPool Si-45 SWCG System
    Polaris 280 vacuum/Polaris PB4-60 boost pump
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3hp Pump--Pentair sand filter

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Aug 2014
    Location
    Allen, TX
    Posts
    67

    Re: Do I need extra skimmers and return lines?

    Quote Originally Posted by RobbieH View Post
    Well, technically you didn't clarify. You said it is above ground and in ground at the same time.
    Since I am new to forum, and I don't want to mention manufactures names so as not to appear as if I am promoting them, I was kinda unclear. This pool can be installed above ground and in ground also. It has a liner. The pool has aluminium walls, two inch thick, and there is a insulation sandwiched in between the walls of the pool wall section. So, I would just need to do a round cut through the aluminum, and buy one more outlet(s) for return lines. But if it is not going to give me much benefit, I would rather not mess with it.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by timerguy View Post
    Other end diagonally same height unless you know of a way to get your water level at an incline . Wouldn't hurt to have another return line pointed in the direction of the skimmer. I have 4 return lines and 2 skimmers. Only 1 return line is on the same side of the pool as the skimmer and that's for my cleaner connection. The other 3 are 2 in the shadow end and one in the deep end.
    Haha, I was asking about return line, but good joke anyway. Made me laugh.

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Chapin, SC
    Posts
    1,141

    Re: Do I need extra skimmers and return lines?

    Well, then the advice still holds lol. But rereading post 4, since you're doing the work yourself. You might consider a third return line across from the one skimmer as well. That should keep the water moving in a clockwise direction. Oh, and what's it going to be? IG OR AG?
    Pool size: 24000gal inground Vinyl-Taylor k-2006 and k-1766 test kits and-speed stir
    Intermatic P1353ME digital timer w/freeze sensor
    CircuPool Si-45 SWCG System
    Polaris 280 vacuum/Polaris PB4-60 boost pump
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3hp Pump--Pentair sand filter

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Do I need extra skimmers and return lines?

    Well, as soon as I read in ground in the first post, I immediately thought gunite pool, having to dig, drill holes, replaster to seal, etc.

    Please add your pool details to your signature as described HERE as it will help us help you in the future.

    Add a picture of the setup and it might be easier to recommend jet locations.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Chapin, SC
    Posts
    1,141

    Re: Do I need extra skimmers and return lines?

    One other thing-- we know you will never ever have a need to drain and replace water due to high cya or CH right? But, wouldn't a main drain be nice to have just in case?
    Pool size: 24000gal inground Vinyl-Taylor k-2006 and k-1766 test kits and-speed stir
    Intermatic P1353ME digital timer w/freeze sensor
    CircuPool Si-45 SWCG System
    Polaris 280 vacuum/Polaris PB4-60 boost pump
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3hp Pump--Pentair sand filter

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •