Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Should I add CYA?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Los Gatos, CA
    Posts
    127

    Should I add CYA?

    Numbers today:
    ph 7.2
    FC 5
    CC <0.5
    TA 70 (yay!)
    CH 750
    CYA 40
    Salt 5200
    Borate 0

    Temp 82-86

    I have a SWG and have always tried to run the CYA at 70. However, this year I did a big SLAM cycle due to tenacious waterline algae and also algae in the pool cleaner hose. Since that SLAM (more than a month ago), my SWG has had NO problems maintaining FC at 5, even with warm water and sunny days. I have had to run it at 100% in the past but I don't have to do so any longer. My CYA was almost 0 before the SLAM, so I SLAMmed the pool and then did 50% of the increase I needed to do and am now at 40. I still have 8 lbs of CYA.

    Since the pool is maintaining FC well, should I still increase the CYA? Maybe I can run the FC at a lower level? Maybe the few dots of algae starting to show near the water line are telling me to continue the CYA increase?
    Salinda
    owner of ~37,000 gallon plaster IG pool/spa combo. Intelliflo VS+ filter pump, 2 hp whisperflo spa jet pump, Jandy Aqualink RS-6 with iAqualink upgrade, The Pool Cleaner 4x suction cleaner, Clean & Clear Plus 520 cartridge filter, Zodiac Clearwater LM2-40 SWG, Sta-rite 400k heater, solar heat pads and coils, Solar-Breeze NX.

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Long Beach, CA
    Posts
    2,671

    Re: Should I add CYA?

    You should not be seeing algae if the SLAM was completed per our recommendations and you have maintained the FC at the proper levels. I was going to say to raise the CYA to 70/80 range until I read the last sentence of the post. You need to determine why the algae is coming back before you raise the CYA.

    Before adding more CYA I recommend you take care of any algae as it will only take more chlorine to get rid of it once the CYA level is raised.
    16k gal plaster with raised spa, Jandy DEV60 filter, 2 HP 2-speed SHPF Jandy Stealth pump
    Hayward Aqua Rite T-15 SWCG, Jandy LXi 400k BTU NG heater, 350 sq.ft. of Sun Star solar panels, TF-100 Test Kit, Dolphin s300i Cleaner
    Test Kits . Pool Math . Chlorine/CYA Chart . The SLAM Process

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Dallas, TX
    Posts
    4,052

    Re: Should I add CYA?

    A few dots of algae around the water line means your FC is dropping below the minimum range, especially around the surface. I found that I needed to target FC around 6-7 instead of 3-5 so that FC would stay strong enough around the tile line. Regarding that algae at the tile line, is it black algae? Black algae takes a good hard scraping to remove, such as a fingernail or wire brush. If this is what you have, just raising FC won't help, you will have to brush it good and hard too.

    Raising CYA will help to keep FC from dropping, again this can help you at the water line, where you seem to be having problems.
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Chapin, SC
    Posts
    1,141

    Re: Should I add CYA?

    Problem is, you needed to add the cya while you were slamming in the first place, then adding it again when you finished the slam to get it to 70-80. It's too late now, obviously you have some algae in your pool now that may require slamming again. You don't want your cya any higher to do the slam.
    Pool size: 24000gal inground Vinyl-Taylor k-2006 and k-1766 test kits and-speed stir
    Intermatic P1353ME digital timer w/freeze sensor
    CircuPool Si-45 SWCG System
    Polaris 280 vacuum/Polaris PB4-60 boost pump
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3hp Pump--Pentair sand filter

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Los Gatos, CA
    Posts
    127

    Re: Should I add CYA?

    Timerguy: I only added CYA the first time after the pool passed the overnight test. The pool is at 40 now.

    RobbieH-I think you're right. I've been away and not brushing. The algae has taken hold over years but is still extremely minimal. I can honestly live with it. I'm wondering if increasing CYA will hold the FC better at water line on hot days? Should I shock again first? Just raise CYA and brush and see what happens?
    Last edited by salinda; 08-04-2014 at 03:09 PM. Reason: Add detail

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Los Gatos, CA
    Posts
    127

    Re: Should I add CYA?

    Update: I added CYA right after this last post below, so maybe on 8/5. I haven't remeasured yet (waiting for some acid to mix in to measure everything) BUT ALL OF THE ALGAE AT THE WATERLINE HAS DISAPPEARED!!!! It was just a few spots in grout on the shady side of the pool. My pool is older so I don't have enough circulation at the surface so this is probably a slightly more stagnant.

    Proper CYA levels for SWG, which seem high to non-SWG users, seems to keep the FC more stable at the surface based upon this observation.
    Salinda
    owner of ~37,000 gallon plaster IG pool/spa combo. Intelliflo VS+ filter pump, 2 hp whisperflo spa jet pump, Jandy Aqualink RS-6 with iAqualink upgrade, The Pool Cleaner 4x suction cleaner, Clean & Clear Plus 520 cartridge filter, Zodiac Clearwater LM2-40 SWG, Sta-rite 400k heater, solar heat pads and coils, Solar-Breeze NX.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •