Algae Nearly Gone After Being Closed for 2 Years.

Aug 4, 2014
Lynbrook, NY
Hi All, Newbie Here..

So I just closed on a home and had the vinyl in ground pool opened up after 2 years on non use. Fortunately it had a pool cover on it so there wasn't much debris aside from algae. We had a pool guy come in and shock with 8lbs of powdered chlorine on 2 occasions and had the pumps running 24/7. After a nice scrubbing of the walls and few back washes and a vacuum, the pool was nice and clear...4 days later, there I checked the pool and saw very some light spots of algae on the floor and walls ..(wasn't able to be at the property but the pumps were running). Went to Leslie's and threw 2 bags of shock Saturday evening and then applied 12 caps of pool first aid the morning after since I was told it's a 24,000 gal pool.. Cleared up a bit by Sunday evening so I was thinking I do the same Monday evening with the pool first aid and go from there. I'm hoping it will be all gone so I can then continue the upkeep with the chlorine tablets and floaters I also purchased! Am I on the right track? Thanks all!

Welcome to the Forum!

Sorry to say, but no, not by the methodology we teach here. We are about knowledge first, doing our own testing, and dosing the pool only with what is needed. Most of us do not trust or rely on Pool Stores or services for anything chemical that a pool needs.

I suggest first taking a look at the ABC's of Pool Chemistry. From there in Pool School I would check out Defeating Algae, SLAM, and all else you can absorb. If you are willing to learn some basics, do some of your own Daily testing and understanding what it all means then you can do this yourself easily. Part of this means getting your own proper test kit. If this sounds like something you'll be willing to do, let us know, and we are here to help.

Enjoy the forum!

Welcome to the forum. All the stuff Brushpup is talking about is linked in the pretty colors of his signature.