Newbie - Need Help with Green Water and Very High

Aug 3, 2014
Phoenix, AZ
Hi All,

I took over my pool maintenance about a month ago and just got my TF-100 kit, so I'm pretty new at all of this. Recently, I had to leave Arizona for 2+ weeks and of course when I got back the pool was turning green and there was a lot of debris due to constant storms.

Here are my test results as of today:
pH - 8.5
FC - 0
TC - 0
CH - 1300
TA - 150
CYA - 100

I understand I need to SLAM the pool immediately, but are my CH / TA / CYA levels so off that this will be futile?

Thanks!

Welcome to TFP!

First order of business for you would be (if possible) drain about half of your water and refill, to get your CYA down. Depending on your fill water's CH, this may also help that, as well.

Next should be to recheck your pH and get that down to around 7.2.

Then start your SLAM.

Suggested reading:

http://www.troublefreepool.com/content/123-abc-of-pool-water-chemistry

http://www.troublefreepool.com/content/126-defeating-algae

http://www.troublefreepool.com/content/125-slam-shock-level-and-maintain-shockingl

There are other sections that would be good for you to brush up on, but we can save those for later.

Welcome to TFP !!
Charlie gave ya some good advice. Your looking at some water replacement to get that CYA level down and hopefully that CH as well.
Just make sure you follow the SLAM process to the T.
How are you chlorinating your pool now ? ?

Hi Charlie,

Ok! I will do the refill / PH check / SLAM.

I am actually not sure how one goes about draining their pool. Do I rent a pump? Is there a mechanism in the plumbing of most pools to drain it?