Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 25

Thread: Is my FC too high

  1. Back To Top    #1
    markuszoom5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Liverpool NY
    Posts
    121

    Is my FC too high

    I like to keep my FC on the high side. Is it harmful.
    FC 4.3
    CC 0
    Ph 7.6
    Hardness 170ppm
    Alk 112
    CYA 60
    Circa 20,000 gal IGP, 12 years old, Hayward SP2607X10, 1 hp single speed pump, Hayward S244T Sand filter, vinyl liner, using Aquacheck test strips and Taylor K-2006 Test Kit, 1 skimmer, 1 bottom drain, 2 jets (near stairs and on the opposite deep end)

  2. Back To Top    #2

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Posts
    97

    Re: Is my FC too high

    The minimum FC for 60 CYA is 5 so you're not high at all.
    12' Intex Metal Frame Pool, 1500 gallons, Intex 2800gph Sand filter/pump, AquaPro PRO1100 HP, K-2006 Test Kit

  3. Back To Top    #3
    northrn's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Cincinnati, OH
    Posts
    532

    Re: Is my FC too high

    Your chlorine of 4.3 is not high. Minimum levels, target levels, and SLAM levels are dependent on your CYA level. Here's a handy reference:

    Chlorine/CYA chart
    27' AG 18K Gallons ~ Cartridge Filter ~ Pentair 1.5 HP Pump

  4. Back To Top    #4
    pwrstrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Elverson Pa.
    Posts
    4,758

    Is my FC too high

    Actually you are below the min for your CYA level. You should be targeting 9 and not letting it fall below 5.
    I would ditch the test strips and get yourself one of the recommendedTest Kits. The strips are not accurate enough for the job !
    So based on the results you have, I would add some bleach ASAP to get your FC level back in range. You really need a good test kit to get good accurate advice. 😎
    Jeff
    24'x54" AG Morada RTR (by wilbar) 13'500 gal. Hayward Powerflo Matrix 1hp 2 speed. Hayward Perflex EC65 DE filter.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    markuszoom5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Liverpool NY
    Posts
    121

    Re: Is my FC too high

    These were not test strips, this was a friend's Taylor test kit that I bum off him because I am to cheap to get my own.
    Circa 20,000 gal IGP, 12 years old, Hayward SP2607X10, 1 hp single speed pump, Hayward S244T Sand filter, vinyl liner, using Aquacheck test strips and Taylor K-2006 Test Kit, 1 skimmer, 1 bottom drain, 2 jets (near stairs and on the opposite deep end)

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Is my FC too high

    So are you planning to borrow it everyday as is required to keep your pool balanced?

    As everyone said ... your FC is too low. Also, I have no idea how you got a reading of 4.3 ... the Taylor tests are either color match or increments of 0.5 or 0.2 ppm.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  7. Back To Top    #7
    pwrstrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Elverson Pa.
    Posts
    4,758

    Re: Is my FC too high

    Is he going to let you "bum" it to fight an algae bloom when your not keeping your FC in range ? 😎
    Jeff
    24'x54" AG Morada RTR (by wilbar) 13'500 gal. Hayward Powerflo Matrix 1hp 2 speed. Hayward Perflex EC65 DE filter.

  8. Back To Top    #8
    markuszoom5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Liverpool NY
    Posts
    121

    Re: Is my FC too high

    By reading the chart it now makes sense why pool stores say shock once a week. They know or don't care that you are putting in large amounts of cya. They love to sell tabs and I have a whole bucket from beginning of year when I did not know what I was doing (Lowes). Eventually you develop algae and the only way to kill them is to OD on chlorine every day. I was doing a hybrid approach with the tabs but it caught up a bit with me. Thank god for all the rain so I can dilute it a bit.
    Circa 20,000 gal IGP, 12 years old, Hayward SP2607X10, 1 hp single speed pump, Hayward S244T Sand filter, vinyl liner, using Aquacheck test strips and Taylor K-2006 Test Kit, 1 skimmer, 1 bottom drain, 2 jets (near stairs and on the opposite deep end)

  9. Back To Top    #9

    TFP Guide

    Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Hudson, WI
    Posts
    2,602

    Re: Is my FC too high

    What are you using to chlorinate your pool ??
    '70s IG Vinyl 32K gal, Lazy L, Hayward SuperPump 1.5hp 120V, S240 Sand Filter W/DE
    Solar Blanket, Well Water, Borax Added, TF-100 tester. ? too cold
    1979, 275gal Conway Emerald Spa P-100-2, ES-2 Spa Pack, bromine floater, indoor
    TF-100, Best test kit - TFTestkits.net
    Please help keep the lights on, become a TFP Supporter!

  10. Back To Top    #10
    pwrstrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Elverson Pa.
    Posts
    4,758

    Re: Is my FC too high

    If you're using tabs, now would be a good time to stop with them and switch over to liquid chlorine only. You'll need to dose it every night to keep your FC in range. 😎
    Jeff
    24'x54" AG Morada RTR (by wilbar) 13'500 gal. Hayward Powerflo Matrix 1hp 2 speed. Hayward Perflex EC65 DE filter.

  11. Back To Top    #11
    markuszoom5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Liverpool NY
    Posts
    121

    Re: Is my FC too high

    Oh I use a hybrid approach where I add bleach from Target or liquid chlorine from pool store, while putting 2 tabs into skimmer so I don't have to pour chlorine every night. Then I measure CYA weekly and if it climbs I stop the tabs and wait until rain and adding water brings it down then I do tabs once it's back down again. Now it's 60 and I stopped tabs again.
    Circa 20,000 gal IGP, 12 years old, Hayward SP2607X10, 1 hp single speed pump, Hayward S244T Sand filter, vinyl liner, using Aquacheck test strips and Taylor K-2006 Test Kit, 1 skimmer, 1 bottom drain, 2 jets (near stairs and on the opposite deep end)

  12. Back To Top    #12
    pwrstrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Elverson Pa.
    Posts
    4,758

    Is my FC too high

    Ok. As long as you know what your doing. Most important is keeping the FC in range for the CYA level. At what CYA level do you start back up with the tabs ? Also I would suggest not putting the tabs in the skimmer. If your going to use them I would use a floater.
    You still need to get yourself a good test kit. 😎
    Jeff
    24'x54" AG Morada RTR (by wilbar) 13'500 gal. Hayward Powerflo Matrix 1hp 2 speed. Hayward Perflex EC65 DE filter.

  13. Back To Top    #13
    markuszoom5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Liverpool NY
    Posts
    121

    Re: Is my FC too high

    I have to stop with the tabs again. I start back up around 30 ppm of CYA and bring it up to 50. This time it got a bit higher as usually probably due to less splash out these past two weeks. But now it rains often so it will go back down. I am back to bleach again. I only keep tabs in skimmer when pump is running. Then place them in floater when pump off. I don't believe in timers especially when I know they pump is over $350 and don't want t to run dry. Just replaced the shaft seal due to a leak that previous owner ignored. I think I found it on time as there was only a bit of white residue where it was leaking and the shaft was not rusty.
    Circa 20,000 gal IGP, 12 years old, Hayward SP2607X10, 1 hp single speed pump, Hayward S244T Sand filter, vinyl liner, using Aquacheck test strips and Taylor K-2006 Test Kit, 1 skimmer, 1 bottom drain, 2 jets (near stairs and on the opposite deep end)

  14. Back To Top    #14
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Is my FC too high

    A timer will not cause a pump to run dry. You would have to have a massive air leak for the pump to run dry and that would present itself as a lot of air in the pump. The pump should not lose prime when it turns off. If it does, then you have a leak.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  15. Back To Top    #15

    TFP Guide

    Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Hudson, WI
    Posts
    2,602

    Re: Is my FC too high

    So , , , you use tablets so you don't have to add chlorine daily as that is easier for you. But each time you run your pump (daily ??) you need to capture your floater fish out the tablets to put them in the skimmer, turn the pump on and let it cycle and then shut it down, fish out the chlorine tablets and put them back in the floater and you find that easier ?? The only good part in that is I like the smell of chlorine and if you handle them wet that smell will stay on your hands for hours.

    Adding chlorine daily or occasionally every other (sorry) doesn't sound so bad compared to having to mess with tablets like that.
    '70s IG Vinyl 32K gal, Lazy L, Hayward SuperPump 1.5hp 120V, S240 Sand Filter W/DE
    Solar Blanket, Well Water, Borax Added, TF-100 tester. ? too cold
    1979, 275gal Conway Emerald Spa P-100-2, ES-2 Spa Pack, bromine floater, indoor
    TF-100, Best test kit - TFTestkits.net
    Please help keep the lights on, become a TFP Supporter!

  16. Back To Top    #16
    markuszoom5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Liverpool NY
    Posts
    121

    Re: Is my FC too high

    I like the smell of chlorine too lol. I have to turn the pump off and on anyway and clean out the skimmer. Let's just say that you are right. I used to not know what I was doing so I bought a giant bucket of tabs from lowes and trying to use it up.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle View Post
    A timer will not cause a pump to run dry. You would have to have a massive air leak for the pump to run dry and that would present itself as a lot of air in the pump. The pump should not lose prime when it turns off. If it does, then you have a leak.
    I don't have pump issues, it never does lose prime. I am scared that it might for some reason. It's probably 10 years old. I just fixed a leak and changed all the gaskets recently. It runs quiet though knock on wood. I don't want to have to spend $150 on a new motor or even worse $350 on a whole new pump if it runs dry and melts.
    Circa 20,000 gal IGP, 12 years old, Hayward SP2607X10, 1 hp single speed pump, Hayward S244T Sand filter, vinyl liner, using Aquacheck test strips and Taylor K-2006 Test Kit, 1 skimmer, 1 bottom drain, 2 jets (near stairs and on the opposite deep end)

  17. Back To Top    #17
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: Is my FC too high

    A timer would pay for itself and a new pump eventually just with the electrical savings. Not logical to me to be so concerned over something that you have never observed to be an actual problem. Up to you.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  18. Back To Top    #18
    markuszoom5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Liverpool NY
    Posts
    121

    Re: Is my FC too high

    Quote Originally Posted by jblizzle View Post
    A timer would pay for itself and a new pump eventually just with the electrical savings. Not logical to me to be so concerned over something that you have never observed to be an actual problem. Up to you.
    The thing is, there is a timer and I disconnected it lol, like I disconnected the gas pool heater because I think it's a waste of money. My neighbors run their pumps 24/7 and their pool heaters are on a timer. I don't get it...
    Circa 20,000 gal IGP, 12 years old, Hayward SP2607X10, 1 hp single speed pump, Hayward S244T Sand filter, vinyl liner, using Aquacheck test strips and Taylor K-2006 Test Kit, 1 skimmer, 1 bottom drain, 2 jets (near stairs and on the opposite deep end)

  19. Back To Top    #19
    markuszoom5's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Liverpool NY
    Posts
    121

    Re: Is my FC too high

    Another thing is (250000 gal / 3720 (which is hourly gallons filtered for my filter) x 2 = 13.4 hours. Looks like I am 1 hour short actually as I only do 12 hours. So I am saving as much as I can but running it at night and turning it off during day. And when i swim I change up the schedule and add a few more hours.
    Circa 20,000 gal IGP, 12 years old, Hayward SP2607X10, 1 hp single speed pump, Hayward S244T Sand filter, vinyl liner, using Aquacheck test strips and Taylor K-2006 Test Kit, 1 skimmer, 1 bottom drain, 2 jets (near stairs and on the opposite deep end)

  20. Back To Top    #20

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Posts
    97

    Re: Is my FC too high

    Quote Originally Posted by markuszoom5 View Post
    Another thing is (250000 gal / 3720 (which is hourly gallons filtered for my filter) x 2 = 13.4 hours. Looks like I am 1 hour short actually as I only do 12 hours. So I am saving as much as I can but running it at night and turning it off during day. And when i swim I change up the schedule and add a few more hours.
    Turnover is not the defining factor. Take a look at Determine Pump Run Time.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •