Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Low flow and I have an air leak somewhere?

1. Back To Top    #1

Talking Low flow and I have an air leak somewhere?

I'm a newbie to pools and this awesome website!

I had a pool company come out and change my sand in my sand filter two weeks ago. That didn't fix my flow problem and since then the pool company changes all o-rings on the suction side and the sand filter big o-ring. I am going to change the spider gasket and filter cap when they get here this week. However, I don't think that is going to fix it either. The techs had to cut in new 2" pipe when they changed the sand. I noticed this morning that they did a sloppy job when they installed the new union and new pipe, because the pipe from the 90 elbow to the filter is too long. It causes the union to be tilted and not flush. Could this cause my problem?

I have read quite a few posts on low flow issues and I still can't seem to find the problem. The pool company is coming out Friday, but I would like to fix thing myself if I am able.

Thanks in advance for your support!
    44 Y/O IG, gunite, 20,000, Sand Filter STA-Rite 300 lbs sand, 1 HP 230V motor Ultra Flow, Solar Heater 2 years old, chlorinater 2 yrs old, Skimmer only, two ports, drain pipe busted and capped.
    I'm a 53 y/o male with little pool experience.
    Mark

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Low flow and I have an air leak somewhere?

How do you know you have a flow issue? (Slow return jets?)

If you bypass the filter (with the spin lever on top), does the problem go away?
    Fayetteville, NY -17K gal, IG vinyl, Hayward SP2300VSP Max-Flo Variable Speed Pump, FlowVis Flow Meter, Sand filter
    Self designed Arduino powered automation for pump and solar control, Solar Attic Pool Heater, AutoPilot Digital SWG, TF100

3. Back To Top    #3

Cool Re: Low flow and I have an air leak somewhere?