Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Candidate for Clairifier?

1. Back To Top    #1

Candidate for Clairifier?

Hello all:

I've been using the TFPC method since we got out pool 5 years ago. No algae, no problems, everything is good.

been having a slight problem thees past few months. My water is not as clear as it typically is. Generally I can see very clearly a coin on the bottom of the 6' deep end. While I can still see a coin, there is a slight haze to the water that I just cannot get rid of.

Here are my readings from yesterday (TF-100)...

FC: 6.5
    CC: 0.0
    pH: 7.6
    TA: 60
    CYA: 50
    CH: 230
    Salt: about 3500 (this is the one test I had done at the pool store)

I did have a slightly functioning salt cell which I recognized very early on and augmented with 8.25% bleach until this weekend when my new cell was installed. New cell is working fine and verified by testing a few hours after installation with a TF-100 test.

Aside from that, everything seems well and good except for the "polish" that I am accustomed to.

Might I be a candidate for clairifier? I have never added anything to the pool aside from the TFPC ingredients, so adding something our of my norm has me questioning.

Thanks!
    Jim

Southern Frederick County, MD - Leisure Moroccan 38 Fiberglass Pool - 19,800 gallons
    Pentair 1.5 hp 2 speed pump - Cartridge filter - Dolphin robot - TF-100 Test Kit - SWCG

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Candidate for Clairifier?

Since when did this hazy problem begin? Do you remember what, if any, chemicals you added right before that?

I'm no expert on SWGs, but I see you do have a cartridge filter. Have you replaced those filters in the last 5 years? If not, they could be nearing the end of their lifetimes.

Your test results look fine to me. I would not add any clarifiers or any chemicals until you know what exactly is going on.