Switch to a SWG?

DOMO

Bronze Supporter
Mar 13, 2013
Rowley, MA
Hi all, so I'm a newbie to the the SWG approach, so apologies in advance for any stupid/remedial questions. I always thought they were big money, but just saw some in catalogs for as low as $750 for up to 15,000 gallons. We have a 10,000 gallon fiberglass pool.

What're the main benefits? Are all SWGs created equal?

How often do you have to add salt and how much do people spend annually on salt?

What are the downsides to SWG? I have heard things about deterioration of decking (we have Cambridge brand pavers). Any issues with fiberglass pools?

Hi,
The most prevelent upside to a SWG is that it provides the chlorine, instead of it having to be introduced manually. So, less "hands on" maintenance time of the pool. This also reduces the chance of chlorine spills onto hands, feet, shoes, flip flops, ankles, and feet. Also reduces the off chance of over-dosing the pool.

The SWG costs a bit upfront, but over a period of years, the cost of the SWG vs the cost of chlorine each week, pretty much evens out over a long time period.

A very noticeable benefet, is the soft feel to your skin from a SW pool.

It is highly suggested the SWG be at least twice the size of your pool. The reason why is then you would not need to run the SWG so much, which will greatly lengthen the lifespan of the salt cell. You should consider a SWG sized for a 20K pool to get the best bang for your buck.

There are quite a few good products on the market and would be difficult to compare each of them. Suggest to research and decide which couple of them best suits you. Once you narrow it down to a couple, we'll be happy to chime in with more details if we can.
Pentair (the most cosly cell replacement because the control is built into the cell itself)
Hawyard
Compupool (since they have fixed their problem in the last year or 2)
Autopilot
etc.... there are quite a few