Motor/?Pump replacement

Pagman

Jul 25, 2014
Charleston,SC
I am new to TFP from a posting standpoint but have "lurked" and learned a ton from all the posts. Now I need some help. I noticed the pool looking kind of dirty this week after work, so I ran a basic test only to find my chlorine near zero and my pH around 8. I went to the pump area and tried to manually turn on the waterfall and it wouldn't. I opened the timer box and noticed both pump breakers tripped. When I tried to reset, a nice popping sound came from the back of the filter pump motor so I immediately shut it off. Both timers were way off, so this had been tripped a short while. I also noticed that my main motor is severely corroded with the casing falling apart. I pulled the motor today and most of the casing near the "back end" of the pump in in shambles. Even the attachment bracket is rusted badly. I had this motor replaced about two years ago on one of those home warranties and I suspect that while the motor was replaced, none of the seals on the back end of the pump were changed and this has slowly led to the failure of the motor. I know that's hard to believe that someone might fix something, but not do it correctly! Anyway, what I am looking for advice wise is if I should just replace the motor; I have looking a the two stage and vs motors, or should I go ahead and replace the whole pump? I have no trouble doing this stuff myself and in fact rather enjoy it. I have a hard time believing from what I have read that I really need this big of a pump/motor combination. I have no automation involved and basically this is just a plunge pool. Our electric rates are just over .14 per kWh. Thanks for all the input.

First, welcome to the forum.

Second, it kind of depends on the condition of the wet end. Unless there are cracks in the house, it can usually last a very long time so it is usually worth it to just replace the motor unless of course you can find a pump for less.