Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Newbie here doing the Ascorbic Acid Treatment

1. Back To Top    #1

Cool Newbie here doing the Ascorbic Acid Treatment

Hello all,

My pool is in San Diego, CA. I did the treatment (1-1/2 lbs) late yesterday and let the pump run. I have an inground 20,000 gallon pool. This morning the water was cloudy white but it seemed to lighten the stains, but not sure. I came home and my pool is now light green.

I did my testing which I did start at 0 Clorine

My test shows now:

0 ppm chlorine
    8.2 ppm ph
    160 ppm alkalinity

Per instructions on my test kit, about 2.5 gallons of Muratic Acid should bring these down to the recommended range.

My question is:

Do I still need to let the pump run for another 6 days without adding muratic and chlorine to balance my pool, or can I begin balancing today?

Leo

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Newbie here doing the Ascorbic Acid Treatment

Welcome to TFP!

Bring the PH down to around 7.0 to 7.2. It is best to do that in two or three steps so you don't accidentally go way below your target level.

Did you add algaecide? Using some algaecide is important in keeping algae at bay while you are at zero chlorine. We recommend algaecides based on polyquat, our abbreviation for a very very long chemical name. Generally algaecides with a 60 in their name are polyquat based.

After the stain is lifted, the next step is to add sequestrant. Have you done that?

Then 24 hours after sequestrant is added you can start raising the FC level up from zero.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3