Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: adding salt cell to existing equipment

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    orange county, california
    Posts
    15

    adding salt cell to existing equipment

    I need advice on how i should plumb in a salt cell on existing equipment.
    The salt cell is an aquarite t-15 cell which measures about 15" long and has a separate flow sensor built into a Tee-fitting
    I was thinking about putting the flow sensor on the pool return side further into the plumbing to avoid generating chlorine when running the spa.
    Also my search has turned up mixed results about whether to put a check valve in. What would you do with my particular setup?



    15,000 gallon in-ground freeform pebble-tech plaster built in '99
    Pentair Intelliflow 3hp variable speed pump & 2hp whisperflo for waterfalls
    Aqualink RS4 with intellicom adapter
    Pentair 4000 SMBW 30sq.ft. DE Filter
    Pentair Minimax 400 heater

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: adding salt cell to existing equipment

    I can not understand what pipes are what in that picture to offer any suggestion. Remember that the flow sensor needs at least 12" of straight pipe in front of it.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: adding salt cell to existing equipment

    I like the drawing with the red lines. It has fewer 90 degree bends and mounts the SWG higher up (which I like but is just a convenience thing).

    You can mount the flow sensor on the same pipe, just lower down.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: adding salt cell to existing equipment

    Oh I get it now ... all your extra lines threw me

    Those are some weird angles coming out of the heater with very little pipe left at the valve, so that is going to make life tough. You will likely need to use a 2.5" coupler on the outside of the valve and then a 2/2.5 reducer back to 2" pipe.

    You can put the sensor on the pool side and the cell right out of the heater (no check valve needed). Just worried that you will have clean enough flow for the sensor if you can not get 12 straight inched of pipe.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    orange county, california
    Posts
    15

    Re: adding salt cell to existing equipment

    do i even need to worry about the salt system running while in spa only mode?
    will it over-chlorinate while sitting in the spa?
    my automation won't be able to control the salt system.

    However, I am running a variable speed pump, and will probably keep a lower percentage/longer run time, so maybe this will help balance things?

    i'm thinking to just put the flow sensor in with the rest of the new piping and stop over-thinking it.

    thanks for the input
    15,000 gallon in-ground freeform pebble-tech plaster built in '99
    Pentair Intelliflow 3hp variable speed pump & 2hp whisperflo for waterfalls
    Aqualink RS4 with intellicom adapter
    Pentair 4000 SMBW 30sq.ft. DE Filter
    Pentair Minimax 400 heater

  6. Back To Top    #6
    boston62's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Fort Myers, Florida
    Posts
    461

    Re: adding salt cell to existing equipment

    On my system AutoPilot when the JVC switches to spa it bypasses the SWG....I installed mine where the tablet dispenser was...

    13,000 Gal Pool & Spa
    Jandy Automation /w IAqualink
    Autopilot SWG
    Jandy 2.0 HP VSP, Filter Cartridge
    Taylor (FAS-DPD K-2600, Pool Surface: Plaster

  7. Back To Top    #7
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: adding salt cell to existing equipment

    Yes, do consider the spa issue, though there is no need to "worry" about it

    When in spa mode, if the SWG is running at normal pool strength the FC level will go up way too quickly. If you had an automation system it would automatically turn down the SWG to 1/20th of the percentage setting when running in spa mode, and then turn it back to normal when going back to pool mode. You can either do that manually, or setup the SWG to only run in pool mode, or get an automation system that knows how to talk to the SWG.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    orange county, california
    Posts
    15

    Re: adding salt cell to existing equipment

    Could i wire the main power to the Aquarite Control Panel from a relay that would only turn on when the pump is in pool mode.
    Is there any harm in turning the power on/off to the control panel every time the pump goes on/off?
    this way its not dependent on the flow sensor, in case that ever fails.
    15,000 gallon in-ground freeform pebble-tech plaster built in '99
    Pentair Intelliflow 3hp variable speed pump & 2hp whisperflo for waterfalls
    Aqualink RS4 with intellicom adapter
    Pentair 4000 SMBW 30sq.ft. DE Filter
    Pentair Minimax 400 heater

  9. Back To Top    #9
    Mod Squad jblizzle's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    37,389

    Re: adding salt cell to existing equipment

    It is supposed to be powered from the pump timer so that it is on/off with the pump. The flow switch is a backup.

    But, won't the pump be on in spa mode too? I am not sure what kind of relay would be connected to your valves?
    Wait, what automation system do you have? Add it to your signature.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    orange county, california
    Posts
    15

    Re: adding salt cell to existing equipment

    I have an older aqualink rs8 (rev. HH) with an intellicom adapter able to interpret aqualink relays-to-speeds to the variable speed pump

    the speeds i have are programmed are:
    1800rpm pool cleaner
    1300rpm pool filtration
    2500rpm spa mode

    i think i could wire the pump to the line side (always on) and have the SWG on the load side (on/off with relay) and splice the low voltage so that SWG has power when pump speed 2 is in use

    kind of a big work-around, but i think it may work,
    and from what i learned the newer aqualink doesnt support other salt systems anymore... without another adapter (chlorinator translator)
    15,000 gallon in-ground freeform pebble-tech plaster built in '99
    Pentair Intelliflow 3hp variable speed pump & 2hp whisperflo for waterfalls
    Aqualink RS4 with intellicom adapter
    Pentair 4000 SMBW 30sq.ft. DE Filter
    Pentair Minimax 400 heater

  11. Back To Top    #11

    In the Industry

    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    21

    Re: adding salt cell to existing equipment

    Quote Originally Posted by tbiz99 View Post
    I have an older aqualink rs8 (rev. HH) with an intellicom adapter able to interpret aqualink relays-to-speeds to the variable speed pump

    the speeds i have are programmed are:
    1800rpm pool cleaner
    1300rpm pool filtration
    2500rpm spa mode

    i think i could wire the pump to the line side (always on) and have the SWG on the load side (on/off with relay) and splice the low voltage so that SWG has power when pump speed 2 is in use

    kind of a big work-around, but i think it may work,
    and from what i learned the newer aqualink doesnt support other salt systems anymore... without another adapter (chlorinator translator)
    If I'm correct, AquaLink Rev HH does not support Aqua Rite chlorine generator. Jandy didn't add it until Rev I and blocked support as of Rev L. Yes you can just power up the AquaRite, but you will not be able to control it.
    Jandy iAqualink RS-8 Rev T, OneTouch, Chlorinator Translator, & AquaRite Rev 1.3

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •