Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Newbie here to TFP method!! Please advise.

1. Back To Top    #1

Newbie here to TFP method!! Please advise.

First post!!

My Chlorinator had a leak in it this week so I started researching the web for advice and came across this site. I have purchased and received my K-2006 kit and am about to begin testing tonight. I have removed the Chlorinator all together and replumbed. I have purchase 9 bottles of 121 oz 8.25% unsented Clorox bleach, 3 large bags of Arm and Hammer baking soda (13lbs each I believe) and 2 boxes of 20 mule team Borax.

Question? Should I start with the PH test first and make sure it is ok? Where is the best place to begin with testing?
    Brandon, Mississippi
    20000 Gallon Vinyl Inground
    Sand Filter with Hayward Super 2 - 1 HP pump
    K-2006 Kit

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Newbie here to TFP method!! Please advise.

I'd suggest starting with CYA to see what level you should be chlorinating to. You may end up having to do a partial drain to reduce Cya levels so it could be a waste of chemicals to do anything before that. Is your water looking good right now?
    16' wide ~20,000gal IG vinyl lazy L shape pool circa 2002, 1hp Hayward Super Pump, Hayward S244T sand filter, Hayward H250ED2 gas heater, Hayward eVac Pro robot, Stenner pump for chlorine, TF-100 test kit
    2008 Gulf Coast 864 LEi hot tub

3. Back To Top    #3

Welcome to TFP!!!

What makes some of the new members go out and buy baking soda and borax before you have even tested your water to know if you need it? Oh well, you can use it in the laundry if you do not need it.

Start with the pH and FC/CC testing as those are slightly time critical after you take the sample. Then do the rest. The CYA test should be done outside in bright indirect light.

Read: Extended Test Instructions
    Jason, TFP Moderator