Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New Pool just filled & added chemicals NOW tint of green!!! Help Please!

1. Back To Top    #1

New Pool just filled & added chemicals NOW tint of green!!! Help Please!

Hi, Just finished filling pool with city water yesterday & completed the required tests for BBB method results were at 11:00am:
    FC 0
    PH 7.0
    TA 30
    CH 30
    CYA 0
    B 0
    Put all the figures into pool math and added exactly the given amounts.

At 7:30pm tested pool again and the results were:
    FC 5
    PH 7.2
    TA 80
    CH 30
    CYA 60
    B 10

Just went out this morning 5:30am to check and the pool is clear to bottom but with a shade of green
    tested again and the results are:
    FC 5
    TC 5
    CC 0
    B 10
    PH 7.2
    TA 80
    CYA 90

Please help I'm a newbie and not sure what to do next. ty you for any help given to this matter
    Intex AG Vinyl 18x48, 6,423 gal, Intex 28651 Sand filter, 3200 gph, Install 7/2014, Taylor K-2005 test kit

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: New Pool just filled & added chemicals NOW tint of green!!! Help Please!

What test kit are you using?

Did you add liquid CYA?

Have you seen the youtube video on the CYA test? Link in my sig.

Welcome to TFP
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

You just started the pool, so we need to know exactly what you have put into it to date. I'm surprised at the CYA numbers going up that fast and wonder how much you put in.