Bleeding Air from Filter - Water out of Pump Basket

Jul 20, 2014
Florida
Hey everyone,

Just joined the forums, I have been reading them for advice since I became a pool owner a few weeks ago and they have been extremely helpful. I am currently a noob when it comes to pool knowledge, but I hope to slowly correct that : ) So there was a lot flow/bubbles going on in my pump basket looked like a rapid river in there basically and from everything I have read.. it should be pretty still looking air tight water. So I figured there might be air trapped somewhere so I turned the pump and pool off, opened up the pump basket and added some lube to the o-ring. I also, while the pump basket was open, opened the air valve on top of the filter to bleed the air out of the system. It is a Pentair DE Salt Water Pool system, 15,000 gallon pool and I think the filter is a 60sqft. Anyways, when I opened up the air to bleed it out, water started coming up out of the pump basket and overflowing for as long as I bled the air. Is this normal? Any ideas what is going on? Maybe its simple, but like I said, I have a lot to learn! Thanks for any and all help everyone.

Hi, welcome to TFP! When you get a chance, please edit your signature to include information about the pool such as pool type (above ground or in ground), surface (vinyl, plaster, or fiberglass), size in gallons, pump brand and horsepower, filter type (sand, DE, or cartridge), filter brand and size, and any water features, cleaning systems, and if there is a spa (attached or detached). It will show up at the bottom of everything you post and it is easier for us to help you if we don't have to search the thread for this information.