Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 15 of 15

Thread: Low ph, high CYA, should I add borax?

  1. Back To Top    #1
    surfhawaii's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Kailua, Hawaii
    Posts
    61

    Low ph, high CYA, should I add borax?

    Just added a bunch of CYA and ph has dropped to 7.0 (or below). I read in here that CYA affects ph but should I add borax to bring the ph level up or just leave it? TA = 70.

    Ben.
    24.5k gallon
    Sand filter (Triton II TR 100)
    IG tile
    Pentair VS+SVRS pump
    Sundance Chelsee spa

  2. Back To Top    #2
    pwrstrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Elverson Pa.
    Posts
    4,758

    Low ph, high CYA, should I add borax?

    How has your PH been in the past ? By that I mean was it pretty stable or does it rise. Do you have any water features ?
    You could leave it alone and see if it comes back up on its own. If it doesn't then raise it up.
    What CYA level did you shoot for ? 😎
    Jeff
    24'x54" AG Morada RTR (by wilbar) 13'500 gal. Hayward Powerflo Matrix 1hp 2 speed. Hayward Perflex EC65 DE filter.

  3. Back To Top    #3
    surfhawaii's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Kailua, Hawaii
    Posts
    61

    Re: Low ph, high CYA, should I add borax?

    over the past years, the ph typically rises and occasionally I add muriatic acid to lower it. that's why I was a little surprised to see it this low (haven't had this before). no water features. CYA was at zero so I add 8 lbs. might have overdone it because now it's ~90 (have trouble reading this test). hoping 90 will be ok.
    24.5k gallon
    Sand filter (Triton II TR 100)
    IG tile
    Pentair VS+SVRS pump
    Sundance Chelsee spa

  4. Back To Top    #4
    pwrstrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Elverson Pa.
    Posts
    4,758

    Low ph, high CYA, should I add borax?

    90 is a bit high. For a non SWG we recommend 50 at the high end. Me personally I would drain some water off and replace it to lower it. It's your choice. You just have to stay on top of your FC so you don't get algae. How are you chlorinating your water ?
    In the future you should bring the CYA level up in steps so you don't over shoot.
    Jeff
    24'x54" AG Morada RTR (by wilbar) 13'500 gal. Hayward Powerflo Matrix 1hp 2 speed. Hayward Perflex EC65 DE filter.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    surfhawaii's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Kailua, Hawaii
    Posts
    61

    Re: Low ph, high CYA, should I add borax?

    I use bleach. yea, should have taken it more slowly on CYA...just lazy. understand the draining thing, done that before, we'll see. my first concern is the low ph, is it a danger to swimmers?
    24.5k gallon
    Sand filter (Triton II TR 100)
    IG tile
    Pentair VS+SVRS pump
    Sundance Chelsee spa

  6. Back To Top    #6
    pwrstrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Elverson Pa.
    Posts
    4,758

    Re: Low ph, high CYA, should I add borax?

    Not a danger. May burn the eyes. Raise it up a little if it makes you more comfortable. 😎
    Jeff
    24'x54" AG Morada RTR (by wilbar) 13'500 gal. Hayward Powerflo Matrix 1hp 2 speed. Hayward Perflex EC65 DE filter.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    TFP Guide

    Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Hudson, WI
    Posts
    2,602

    Re: Low ph, high CYA, should I add borax?

    Unless you just filled it with water doesn't having a zero CYA reading raise a red flag that something is wrong. CYA doesn't just disappear and adding 8lbs of CYA to a 22K pool looks to bring it up to near 50.

    I would be suspect of the zero reading and also now wonder if you are doing the test correctly getting the 90
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NxaqoW-_MCs
    '70s IG Vinyl 32K gal, Lazy L, Hayward SuperPump 1.5hp 120V, S240 Sand Filter W/DE
    Solar Blanket, Well Water, Borax Added, TF-100 tester. ? too cold
    1979, 275gal Conway Emerald Spa P-100-2, ES-2 Spa Pack, bromine floater, indoor
    TF-100, Best test kit - TFTestkits.net
    Please help keep the lights on, become a TFP Supporter!

  8. Back To Top    #8
    surfhawaii's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Kailua, Hawaii
    Posts
    61

    Re: Low ph, high CYA, should I add borax?

    yea, I think you're right. it wasn't zero to begin with, test only goes to 30, I made the bad assumption it was zero. would have been smarter to only use 4 lbs CYA, wait a week and retest.

    looked at your link, I do this correctly. it's just hard sometimes to see when the black dot COMPLETELY disappears. wish there were an easier test method.
    24.5k gallon
    Sand filter (Triton II TR 100)
    IG tile
    Pentair VS+SVRS pump
    Sundance Chelsee spa

  9. Back To Top    #9
    pwrstrk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Elverson Pa.
    Posts
    4,758

    Re: Low ph, high CYA, should I add borax?

    They do have a 50 ppm comparison test available. It'll give a feel for what to look for in the test. It can be tricky. You are able to retest a couple of times with the same sample to verify your reading. 😎
    Jeff
    24'x54" AG Morada RTR (by wilbar) 13'500 gal. Hayward Powerflo Matrix 1hp 2 speed. Hayward Perflex EC65 DE filter.

  10. Back To Top    #10

    TFP Guide

    Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Hudson, WI
    Posts
    2,602

    Re: Low ph, high CYA, should I add borax?

    What test kit are you using that only goes to 30 ??

    That CYA test is ... different. Would be nice if there was some other way as I'm always second guessing myself with that little black dot
    '70s IG Vinyl 32K gal, Lazy L, Hayward SuperPump 1.5hp 120V, S240 Sand Filter W/DE
    Solar Blanket, Well Water, Borax Added, TF-100 tester. ? too cold
    1979, 275gal Conway Emerald Spa P-100-2, ES-2 Spa Pack, bromine floater, indoor
    TF-100, Best test kit - TFTestkits.net
    Please help keep the lights on, become a TFP Supporter!

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Chapin, SC
    Posts
    1,141

    Re: Low ph, high CYA, should I add borax?

    0 to 90 would have required 16.5 lbs of Stabilizer
    Pool size: 24000gal inground Vinyl-Taylor k-2006 and k-1766 test kits and-speed stir
    Intermatic P1353ME digital timer w/freeze sensor
    CircuPool Si-45 SWCG System
    Polaris 280 vacuum/Polaris PB4-60 boost pump
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3hp Pump--Pentair sand filter

  12. Back To Top    #12
    surfhawaii's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Kailua, Hawaii
    Posts
    61

    Re: Low ph, high CYA, should I add borax?

    [QUOTE=kiss4afrog;701728]What test kit are you using that only goes to 30 ??

    I use the Taylor K-2006. I mean the lowest number the tube goes to is 30, which is at the top of the little tube.
    24.5k gallon
    Sand filter (Triton II TR 100)
    IG tile
    Pentair VS+SVRS pump
    Sundance Chelsee spa

  13. Back To Top    #13

    TFP Guide

    Kiss4aFrog's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Hudson, WI
    Posts
    2,602

    Re: Low ph, high CYA, should I add borax?

    Gotcha .

    - - - Updated - - -

    Quote Originally Posted by timerguy View Post
    0 to 90 would have required 16.5 lbs of Stabilizer
    But he wasn't going to 90 he just thought he was at zero and was trying to get some in there.
    '70s IG Vinyl 32K gal, Lazy L, Hayward SuperPump 1.5hp 120V, S240 Sand Filter W/DE
    Solar Blanket, Well Water, Borax Added, TF-100 tester. ? too cold
    1979, 275gal Conway Emerald Spa P-100-2, ES-2 Spa Pack, bromine floater, indoor
    TF-100, Best test kit - TFTestkits.net
    Please help keep the lights on, become a TFP Supporter!

  14. Back To Top    #14

    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Chapin, SC
    Posts
    1,141

    Re: Low ph, high CYA, should I add borax?

    Quote Originally Posted by kiss4afrog View Post
    Gotcha .

    - - - Updated - - -



    But he wasn't going to 90 he just thought he was at zero and was trying to get some in there.
    CYA was at zero so I add 8 lbs. might have overdone it because now it's ~90 (have trouble reading this test). hoping 90 will be ok.
    He says it's now~ 90. He says he doesn't really know if it was zero. But my point was 8 lbs of cya can't take it to 90.
    Pool size: 24000gal inground Vinyl-Taylor k-2006 and k-1766 test kits and-speed stir
    Intermatic P1353ME digital timer w/freeze sensor
    CircuPool Si-45 SWCG System
    Polaris 280 vacuum/Polaris PB4-60 boost pump
    Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3hp Pump--Pentair sand filter

  15. Back To Top    #15
    surfhawaii's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Kailua, Hawaii
    Posts
    61

    Re: Low ph, high CYA, should I add borax?

    Thanks for all the help. Update. We had a big rain the other night, pool almost overflowed. Ph now at 7.4. I love it when things resolve themselves but learned the lesson of adding CYA slower next time.
    24.5k gallon
    Sand filter (Triton II TR 100)
    IG tile
    Pentair VS+SVRS pump
    Sundance Chelsee spa

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •