Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Shocked by water test results & not sure what to do now

1. Back To Top    #1

Shocked by water test results & not sure what to do now

Hey guys! I sought advice here on how to open and balance my pool at the beginning of the summer. I followed your excellent advice and got my pool in fabulous shape! Since then, it has done wonderfully with regular minimal maintenance. That is until now. We just returned from a 5 day trip. Prior to the trip, all of the levels were right where they should be. Nothing out of the ordinary. When we returned, the pool and water still looked really good, so I just did a routine back wash of my sand filter and tested my water. Considering how good it looked, I was crazy shocked by the results!

Salt - 4700

FC - .5

CYA - 0

pH - 8.0

TA - 65

CH - 25

I'm very fortunate that the pool still looks good, but I know that I've got to jump on this asap! I'm still learning, so can you guys give me some guidance about what I should do. Also, what would cause this kind of drastic change, and was there something I could have or should have done to prevent it? You are lifesavers! Thank you!

6000 Gallons; Vinyl; AG; Columbia High Performance Sand Filter, 200 lb, 2 HP, 6,000 GPH; Krystal Clear SWG; 3 years old; Using TF-100 Test Kit.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Shocked by water test results & not sure what to do now

What were the results prior to your 5 day trip?

There is no way the CYA could have dropped from 70-80ppm to <20ppm in 5 days.
    If the CYA is truly that low, then there is no way the SWG is going to be able to generate more FC than the sun is going to destroy.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL