Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Slam ?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    127

    Slam ?

    In a weeks time my pool went from keeping a 5ppm of chlorine to "0" when i checked Saturday morning. Looks like my SWG may not be producing chlorine to pool. It is right at 3 years old and is a Circupool RJ45. I also noticed a light hint of green on the bottom in spots, so i decided that this may be the time to try to slam pool. Last night i brought up my chlorine to 22ppm and just checked it this morning and got a reading of 13ppm. This means pool has something in water right due to loss? CC = .5

    Do i add more chlorine now to bring back up or do i wait till this evening to do it?

    CYA = 60
    TA = 100
    PH = 7.6
    SALT = 3400
    BORATES = 50
    FC = 13
    CC = .5

    The reason also that i am thinking my cell is not working is due to me switching to super chlorinate Saturday night and had a 0ppm reading Sunday morning. I should have had at least some kind of reading or would water issue cause it?

    Thanks in advance for help.
    27' Radiant Metric, 17,100 gallons
    Pentair Dynamo 1.5hp 220v
    Circupool RJ45, Sand Filter, Borates
    Dolphin DX6 Robotic cleaner
    TF 100 Kit

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Butterfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    South Carolina
    Posts
    10,045

    Re: Slam ?

    Yes, you do need to SLAM the pool. The SLAM FC level for 60 CYA that you want to maintain is 24.

    The more often you can test/adjust back up to SLAM FC level, the faster it will go.

    See detailed directions here: http://www.troublefreepool.com/conte...tain-shockingl

    - - - Updated - - -

    btw, backwash/rinse the filter when the psi rises 25% over clean filter psi. Brush daily and scrub every nook and cranny
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.

    ~ One should not use a sledge hammer to swat a mosquito. ~

    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    127

    Re: Slam ?

    oh and local pool place said my phosphates were 1000.
    SWG guy seems to think that something in the water is causing SWG not to work and that the amount it is producing is just getting robbed by what is in the water. Just kicked SWG back on and will get a test straight from return to see if it is actually producing chlorine.

    This morning i had a loss from 22ppm to 13ppm and brought it back up to 28. 4 hours later another test showed it dropped to 22ppm. Just brought it back to 28ppm again and will retest in 4 more hours.
    27' Radiant Metric, 17,100 gallons
    Pentair Dynamo 1.5hp 220v
    Circupool RJ45, Sand Filter, Borates
    Dolphin DX6 Robotic cleaner
    TF 100 Kit

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    127

    Re: Slam ?

    went from 28 to 4 hours later at 21 now. This is taking some serious bleach.
    27' Radiant Metric, 17,100 gallons
    Pentair Dynamo 1.5hp 220v
    Circupool RJ45, Sand Filter, Borates
    Dolphin DX6 Robotic cleaner
    TF 100 Kit

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    127

    Re: Slam ?

    With my CYA at 60 and i should shock to 24, if i go over 24 will it affect the SLAM process?
    27' Radiant Metric, 17,100 gallons
    Pentair Dynamo 1.5hp 220v
    Circupool RJ45, Sand Filter, Borates
    Dolphin DX6 Robotic cleaner
    TF 100 Kit

  6. Back To Top    #6
    tucsontico's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    188

    Re: Slam ?

    Quote Originally Posted by kpromero View Post
    With my CYA at 60 and i should shock to 24, if i go over 24 will it affect the SLAM process?
    No. A little higher is fine. You are right–it takes a serious amount of bleach. Objective is to keep the FC as close to the SLAM level throughout the entire SLAM process. The process can take several days so be patient and consistent in your testing/bleach additions. Some folks even set an alarm to test and add bleach every three hours during the night!
    19,500 gal, 16' x 38' PebbleTec IG Pool, Built 4/2013; Pentair IntelliFlo VS 3050 3 HP Pump, Pentair Intellichlor IC40 SWG, Pentair IntellipH, Pentair 520 sq ft/150 GPM Cartridge Filter, A&A In-Floor Cleaner, Dolphin Nautilus Plus Robot (aka "Robbie"), Pentair EasyTouch Power Panel w/ Quick Touch 4 Remote Control, Autelis WiFi controller, Clear 12 mil Solar Cover on Presto SS Reel, Taylor K-2006 Test Kit.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Louisiana
    Posts
    127

    Re: Slam ?

    wow. Well i was off today and checked every 4 hours but back to work tomorrow so will not be able to check that often. Thats why i was think on setting it pretty high in the morning so it would not possibly go below the 24 by the time i got back.

    Thanks for your help.
    27' Radiant Metric, 17,100 gallons
    Pentair Dynamo 1.5hp 220v
    Circupool RJ45, Sand Filter, Borates
    Dolphin DX6 Robotic cleaner
    TF 100 Kit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •