Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: You told me....

1. Back To Top    #1

You told me....

Just have to say you all were right! We put in the pool over the winter, you may remember what an ongoing challenge it has been and I ordered my test kit. I have to tell you being a newb it was a bit overwhelming but the instructions were detailed and easy even for a greenhorn like me to understand. I've been testing and watching the water, yesterday I realized you all were right I looked at the water and told the husband, I need to add acid before I even tested it. He thought it looked fine and being a chemist by trade wanted to debate it, so I grabbed the test kit and sure enough, the ph was a little high. He was amazed! I told him the folks on the TFP site said you get to the point where you can tell even if it's a bit off just by looking at it! Thanks again for all your help!
    Finally Done! - 21x34 IG, SWCG, depth - 3.6 - 4.6 - 6.6, Pentair IntelliFlow 3050 vs+svrs, 60 sq ft Pentair DE Filter, 400k BTU Heater, Polaris 280 w/.75 hp booster pump, Pentair EasyTouch wireless, 38 sq ft raised spa, wet edge Barbados quartz finish - ODK w/36 in Napoleon grill

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: You told me....

You have better eyes than I do if you can just "look" at the water and tell if the PH is off! I have a hard enough time matching the colors testing it. Care to share any tips or secrets regarding the "eyeball" test?
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!

3. Back To Top    #3

The pH should not really cause a difference in the way the water looks ... If the FC gets too low, that can cause a dullness.
    Jason, TFP Moderator