Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Coating on pool surfaces.

1. Back To Top    #1

Coating on pool surfaces.

Hello-this is my first post!

My husband and I have just purchased a house with an a vinyl, inground pool. We are complete novices when it comes to pool care and are so happy to have discovered TFP. We have been reading all we can on the site and have a Taylor testing kit ready and waiting. We are moving in tomorrow and will start testing then.

Every time we have visited the house over the past couple of months, the pool has been crystal clear, though we noticed a thin, brownish-orange coating covering some of its surfaces. As a newbie, I wasn't sure what this could be, but thought it might be some of our SC red dirt and sand coating the pool. When we stopped by the house today, the coating was more pronounced. I tried to scratch some of it off the stairs, but it was difficult. So now I'm wondering if this could be some sort of algae. Here are some photos:

image.jpg

image.jpg

Sorry for the sideways pics. As you can see the water is very clear. Any idea what this is?

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Coating on pool surfaces.

Ps- forgot to add that the pool has a SWG.

3. Back To Top    #3

Current: Singapore Previous: Clayton, Victoria, Australia

Welcome to TFP and congratulations on the new home!

It sounds like you've read through parts of this site, keep it up!

Can you please test the water (during the daylight) and post a full set of test results? That would help us to identify the stain.

Also, can you please add your pool details to your signature as described here?

4. Back To Top    #4

Try laying a trichlor tab on the stain for a minute or two and see if it lightens.

Yep, we need those test results

Welcome to TFP
    TFP Moderator TF100 Test Kit TF100 TestKit YouTube Channel PoolMath
    You're done SLAMing when:
    1)You lose 1ppm or less FC overnight, & 2)You have .5ppm CC's or less, & 3)your water is clear.