Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Newbie here. Have two problems

1. Back To Top    #1

Newbie here. Have two problems

First, I bought my home late last year. It had a pool so now I am a pool owner for the first time. It ran great all last year. Now I am finding lots of sand on the bottom. I have to vacuum nearly every day. I assume it is a lateral issue but I'm going to have to cut the plumbing pipes in order to access the bottom Of the sand filter.

Should I go ahead and order the whole "insides" like the long pole and all the laterals and just assume it is a lateral issue? I have someone to help me with the plumbing. I plan on getting screw like attachments so I do not have to cut the pipes every time. It's hot and I cannot afford much pump downtime.

Second issue. Per the previous owner the pump is a couple years old. Last night it got hot and shut down. Now I am afraid of it starting a fire. Should I take it apart and if so, what would I look for?

I am sorry if this is basic stuff, I just need to save money by fixing it myself. I am pretty handy with taking things apart, etc.

Thanks!
    16 x 32 Sport Pool; Hayward Series Sand Filter S244T
    15,000 Gallons, In Ground with New Vinyl Liner
    Pool approx. Five Years Old. Live in KY

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Newbie here. Have two problems

What you are describing is the stand pipe in the center of the filter. It could easily be the gasket under the multiport valve gone bad rather than the laterals. You need to plumb in half unions when you cut the plumbing to the filter. Pumps exposed to the sun in July get...HOT! Welcome to the forum.
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.
    2 Speed Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 85 g.p.m. 22" 250lb. sand filter hard plumbed
    Pool Rover Jr., Pool Blaster Max, Diver Dave TF100 Test Kit/Speed Stir
    Margaritaville Frozen Concoction Maker, Liqour Chiller, & Drink Mixer & Party Tub----Collect 'um all!