Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: new to the bbb method not sure what im doing wrong

1. Back To Top    #1

new to the bbb method not sure what im doing wrong

Well im just beginning to learn pool care for my 14ft x4 1/2 ft deep above ground pool. i live in nevada right next to alkaline flats. So far my alkilinity was way to high starting at 220ppm and i have gotten it down to 160ppm. my hardness has went from 201ppm to 160ppm. my chlorine hasn't even shown up even though I've put it in there. my ph went from 7.8 down to 7.2. So I'm a little confused on how i even those out. any help would be awesome given. the fact that i have almost no knowledge of this.Only things i have is bleach, baking soda, borax, and muriatic acid. also i forgot to add that it is a little cloudy and slightly green not much though for bout 2 days. also my pump is the original pump which is a INTEX krystal clear filter pump model 673R. not sure what CYA is.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: new to the bbb method not sure what im doing wrong

The only way to get more chlorine is to add more chlorine. If you put it in and measure an hour later, is it still there? 4 hours later? How about an overnight chlorine loss test? (see pool school)

pH down to 7.2 is where you want to be to lower TA. You raise it by aeration - splashing in the pool, turn returns so they break the water surface, etc.

Hardness can't go down unless you drain water or have a testing error. It's one of the harder tests to perform.

How are you testing?
    Built in 1957 44,000 gallon in-ground, Wet Edge Primera Stone in Sky Blue, Intelliflo VF Pump, 600 lb. Pentair Triton II TR-100 Sand Filter, CircuPool RG 60 Plus SWG, TF-100 test kit
    If TFP has helped you, please click to SUPPORT TFP!

3. Back To Top    #3

Well I've added a lot of chlorine but its just not showin up it seems like. even within the hr

4. Back To Top    #4