Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Im just learning the forum but need a little advice

1. Back To Top    #1

Im just learning the forum but need a little advice

I have a 20X40 32000 gallon gunite pool, live in Albuquerque New Mexico. Sand filled pump....new to this pool stuff.
    Drained pool to about 4 feet deep in the 8 foot deep end. Filled back up to start the TFP way. Levels are at: FAC 1.24
    PH 7.7
    TA 69
    CH 400
    CYA 109
    PHOSPHATES 1000

So I really do not want to empty the pool again as this is wasteful and costly.

Any Ideas?

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Im just learning the forum but need a little advice

Are those your test results, or a pool store's?

The CYA test is the hardest test, and the one the pool stores get wrong the most. Your CYA could be 40 or it could be 200, or it could be in the 100 range after all.

How does the water look? If it's clear, and no algae patches, you could try maintaining it with high CYA and lower it slowly by replacing a few inches a week to water the lawns or whatever. I've done both so I know it can be done, but it wasn't easy and I don't recommend it. And I know it's impossible without a FAS-DPD chlorine test to measure the high FC levels you need to maintain for the CYA level.

Best suggestion I can make is to get a proper test kit and make decisions based on accurate test results.

Phosphates are immaterial in a balanced pool. Don't let the pool store sell you phos-free. The stuff must be made out of liquid gold, and it frequently causes problems and makes the pool turn milky.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.