Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Mec-O-Matic

1. Back To Top    #1

Question Mec-O-Matic

I have been looking through this section and keep finding stenner pumps mentioned, but I have no experience with them. I use mec-o-matic peristaltic pumps for the three commercial pools I take care of and have never had any problems with them. I was hoping someone could explain why stenner pumps seem to be preferred.

Thanks,

PC
    13,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 12'x24' vinyl liner pool with 2 inch plumbing (all home runs)
    Pentair Intelliflo VS+SVRS pump; Pentair Triton II TR60; Hot Spot Energy FPH3 Heat Recovery

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: Mec-O-Matic

There is no preference for stenner pumps.....they are readily available and have a large market share.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

I never heard of this brand until this thread! I had to google it. I don't think it's a bias, I think it's just unfamiliarity. But now that you're here to add to the body of knowledge, things might change.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

4. Back To Top    #4

Mec-O-Matic is part of the Pulsa-feeder family. There's nothing inherently wrong with them. They're not as widely available as stenner is and they tend to be a little more expensive. The only problem I personally have with them is the lack of available information on them. However, if you have a good resource for parts and service, there's nothing wrong with them.