New Pool Owner, Help Needed with SWG

Jul 6, 2014
Oak Ridge nj
Hi everyone,

I am new to trouble free pools, and pool ownership in general. I recently had built a 21000 gallon vinyl in-ground pool, with spill-over spa, hayward variable speed pump, and hayward aqua-rite salt water generator. The pool builder basically built the pool, and has provided no help with maintenance or balancing the water. He showed me how to switch the valves to isolate the spa or pool, and to adjust the efficiency of the salt water generator. Since the pool has been opened, about a month now, I seem to be having trouble maintaining a reasonable amount of free chlorine. I have been running the SWG at about 85-90% efficiency for 9-11 hours at max speed on the variable speed pump, and am still at the low end of free chlorine readings. My last readings just using the test strips that my pool builder provided, were about 1 ppm free chlorine, my pH is reading high/ok, my stabilizer appears be between low and ok, and my total alkalinity is ok. One concern is the pool sees sunlight from morning to night, which could be stripping away the chlorine. My first question is, is there something else I should be doing to bring up my chlorine levels? I did use the super-chlorinate button on the generator, and that momentarily brought the levels up, but they fell back again pretty rapidly. Additionally, running the generator at 85-90% to maintain chlorine levels seems like it will kill the lifespan of the cell, should I bring this up to my pool builder and ask for a larger cell?