Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: PH Problem

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Quad Cities, IL
    Posts
    6

    PH Problem

    I have a TF-100 test kit on order, my cheap test kit keeps coming back as high ph. I keep addding granular sodium bisulfate i think it is to lower but dont see a change. How soon can i test after adding? I have added two doses by mixing it in good in a pail of water.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Charlie_R's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Location
    Mexico, MO
    Posts
    2,156

    Re: PH Problem

    Best thing for lowering pH is Muriatic acid 31.25% (20* baume`).

    Are you using test strips? they go bad rather quickly, and may be giving you false readings.

    If you are using a color match (phenol red) kit, if your pH is higher than the kit will read, it will show as the highest color until you have it with the range of the kit.

    Check out PoolMath link above, and put your pool info there. It will tell you how much of your chemical to add to bring it down.
    15'x48" 4500 gallon Intex pool, buried 1.5 ft. Pac-Fab Dynamo 3/4 hp pump. Hayward S180T sand filter, bought used. Taylor K-2006 test kit. Rocket mass heater based wood fired pool heater.

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: PH Problem

    If you have high FC, you might be bleaching out the test strips.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Quad Cities, IL
    Posts
    6

    Re: PH Problem

    Thanks for the info, im using the phenol red. I did just have to shock it for an algae problem about 5 days ago.

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Quad Cities, IL
    Posts
    6

    Re: PH Problem

    What would you guys recommend for an initial dose sinc my ph is measuring off the tester? Im thinking about plugging 8.3 into pool math and starting there.

  6. Back To Top    #6
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: PH Problem

    How much acid you need to use depends on your TA and borate levels, neither of which you have posted. Once you have entered those into Pool Math set current PH to 8.3 and target PH of 7.5 and try the amount it calculates for that.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Quad Cities, IL
    Posts
    6

    Re: PH Problem

    Ok...im still waiting for my tf-100 to show up....just trying to get ph lowered in the meantime

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •