Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Starting up pool for season adding CYA and Chlorine

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    25

    Starting up pool for season adding CYA and Chlorine

    I am needing help on just how to add my CYA to the pool and if I can add chlorine at this time? Should I wait on the chlorine until my CYA level is proper? The last owner told me he put it in a sock and put it at the bottom of the spa buy the main drain and let it dissolve this way. Is this a method that would work? I would guess yes. My CYA is at 0 since I have had to drain and clean this nasty pool. Here are my readings as of this morning. What would be my first step? As far as chlorine goes I have Super 3" tablets "HTH brand" and I have cal-hypo 65% "All-Clear chlor-right granules". The stabilizer I have is the HTH brand as well from Wal-Mart.

    TC-0
    FC-0
    PH-6.8
    TA-70
    TH-200
    CYA-0
    17,000gal IG, Plaster, Sandfilter, Starktool 2hp 2 speed pump, has spa

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Starting up pool for season adding CYA and Chlorine

    For your first chlorine addition, add chlorine after sunset. Go ahead and add CYA right away.

    Do not add CYA at the bottom of the spa. Doing so can damage the surface of the spa. Put the CYA in a sock and put the sock in a skimmer.

    Raise your PH up to around 7.5.

    We don't recommend either the tablets or cal-hypo for long term usage. Right at the moment you CH level is a little low, so cal-hypo is goo right now. But when CH levels get up to normal you will probably want to switch to some other form of chlorine.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    25

    Re: Starting up pool for season adding CYA and Chlorine

    Ok thank you. What type of chlorine do you prefer I use if the tablets are not good to use? Also what is best to raise PH in your opinion?
    17,000gal IG, Plaster, Sandfilter, Starktool 2hp 2 speed pump, has spa

  4. Back To Top    #4
    GreatCanadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    844

    Re: Starting up pool for season adding CYA and Chlorine

    Good old bleach is as good as anything to raise your chlorine, and generally cheaper than other forms. You can get that at Walmart Raise your pH with Borax. Have you checked out pool school?
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: Starting up pool for season adding CYA and Chlorine

    Quote Originally Posted by taco_oo7 View Post
    Ok thank you. What type of chlorine do you prefer I use if the tablets are not good to use? Also what is best to raise PH in your opinion?

    Recommended Pool Chemicals
    How to Chlorinate Your Pool
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Current: Singapore Previous: Clayton, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    584

    Re: Starting up pool for season adding CYA and Chlorine

    Use PoolMath to calculate how much to add.
    Last edited by Abigail K; 07-04-2014 at 09:34 AM. Reason: Richard replied first

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    25

    Re: Starting up pool for season adding CYA and Chlorine

    Well I'll be. I was told bleach wasn't a very effective way to keep pool clean. Glad the cal-hypo was free but these tablets were not too cheap :/ Guess that's why I am on here asking you guys...lol. So bleach is actually the best form to use. Just how long should I wait to test my CYA again? I know to leave pump on for 48hrs but does this mean after 48hrs I will have an accurate reading?
    17,000gal IG, Plaster, Sandfilter, Starktool 2hp 2 speed pump, has spa

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: Starting up pool for season adding CYA and Chlorine

    Quote Originally Posted by taco_oo7 View Post
    Well I'll be. I was told bleach wasn't a very effective way to keep pool clean. Glad the cal-hypo was free but these tablets were not too cheap :/ Guess that's why I am on here asking you guys...lol. So bleach is actually the best form to use. Just how long should I wait to test my CYA again? I know to leave pump on for 48hrs but does this mean after 48hrs I will have an accurate reading?
    Straight from Recommended Pool Chemicals
    Solid cyanuric acid can take up to a week to fully register on the test, so it is best not to test the CYA level until one week after adding some.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    25

    Re: Starting up pool for season adding CYA and Chlorine

    Yes I have found poolmath thank goodness!!! Thanks for letting me know though So from what you guys say add my CYA which I have just done in pantyhose down in my skimmer. Then this evening add my chlorine to what I need it to be at? Do I need it at shock level since it was very very nasty before I cleaned it? Or what I will add the cal-hypo since my CH is a little low but after that its recommended to use bleach.
    17,000gal IG, Plaster, Sandfilter, Starktool 2hp 2 speed pump, has spa

  10. Back To Top    #10
    GreatCanadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    844

    Re: Starting up pool for season adding CYA and Chlorine

    If you're spending the day at this, I would raise it to shock level, test it again in an hour and raise it to shock level again - if it's nasty there will probably be a significant drop in level. There will be a drop anyway due to sunlight. . This evening when the sun goes down you can do the OCLT test. Do an FC test, and do one again in the morning before the sun comes up. Read up on the OCLT test in pool school.

    Does your water look clear at the moment?
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

  11. Back To Top    #11

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    25

    Re: Starting up pool for season adding CYA and Chlorine

    Yes it is clear its not crystal clear but I can see the drains down at the deep end good. Heading to look up the OCLT now
    17,000gal IG, Plaster, Sandfilter, Starktool 2hp 2 speed pump, has spa

  12. Back To Top    #12
    GreatCanadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    844

    Re: Starting up pool for season adding CYA and Chlorine

    So how was your OCLT?
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

  13. Back To Top    #13

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    texas
    Posts
    25

    Re: Starting up pool for season adding CYA and Chlorine

    I will have to wait on the proper test kit to arrive.

    - - - Updated - - -

    All I have is strips to test for my FC and the OTO to test for TC. All on here recommend the taylor2006 kit.
    17,000gal IG, Plaster, Sandfilter, Starktool 2hp 2 speed pump, has spa

  14. Back To Top    #14
    GreatCanadian's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Location
    St. John's, Newfoundland
    Posts
    844

    Re: Starting up pool for season adding CYA and Chlorine

    Sorry, I forgot you didn't have your kit yet. Keep us posted when it arrives and post all your numbers.
    13'x22'x52" 8,000 gallon ProSeries Pool with Borates
    Intex 110 pound Sand Filter with Zeobrite, 2650 gph pump, 0.95 hp
    Bestway SWG
    AquaPro ECO500 50,000 BTU heat pump
    GLI Whirlwind Solar Cover Reel, TF-100 Test Kit

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •