Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Two Speed Pump?

  1. Back To Top    #1
    Shirker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Athens, GA - USA
    Posts
    132

    Two Speed Pump?

    I am a new above ground pool owner (24' Round) and it came with a two speed pump. I have been running it on high anywhere between 5 and 18 hours a day (trying to find a good routine that works for me). After backwashing, I read about 16 PSI while on high and 4 PSI on low. Has anyone experimented to find the optimal number of hours on high vs. low? Should I run 24 hours on low? Or 12 hours on low and 2 on high? One concern I have is Chlorine. Since I have a Trichlor feeder, I want to make sure I get enough run-time to get good chlorination (plan to try bleach soon but still educating myself on the chemistry).

    Thanks in advance for any help
    TF-100 | 13.6k gal (24' Round) AG | Chlorine | Sand Filter | Two Speed Motor | Installed June 2014 | Last Opened April 24 2016

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Mod Squad tim5055's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Columbia, SC
    Posts
    8,495

    Re: Two Speed Pump?

    Welcome to TFPC! Can't answer your pump question as I have an old fashioned single speed I run about 6 hours a day.

    If you don't already have one, you will need to pick up one of the recommended test kits. The pool store kits won't cut it.

    Using that Trichlor feeder you need to be careful not to get too high a CYA/Stabilizer level.

    Do some reading over at the Pool School and ask away with the questions.
    TFP Moderator 39 X 18 23,000(ish) freeform gunite; built 2007ish; Pentair Triton II TR100 600lb Sand filter; 2 HP Pentair pump with 2.2 HP AO Smith single speed motor; 2 skimmers, 1 main drain, 4 returns w/waterfall, Stenner 45MHP2 3GPD running@ 60% - 15 gal Tank; heated by the sun CYA 200+ when I started - 50 now. Dolphin Supreme M5 Pool Cleaner. Hot Springs SX Spa, 285 gallon

  3. Back To Top    #3
    bobodaclown's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    Lakeland, FL
    Posts
    2,351

    Re: Two Speed Pump?

    Low is best, the only time you'll need high is when vacuuming or back-flushing.
    Have you read this: http://www.troublefreepool.com/conte...-pump-run-time
    17K Kidney Shaped Pool Concrete (Diamond Bright) Pool, 3/4 hp 2 speed 115V Sta-rite Duraglas PEA5D-180L/P2R5D-181L (Impeller C105-92PS Diffuser C1-216P), 1.5 piping, Pentair CC100 Filter , Heat Siphon 100K BTU Heat Pump Pool Heater, Flow meter Blue White Flowmeter Model No. F-30150P, Hayward Astrolight SP0581N, SWCG CalimarTitanium Edition TE45 , Dolphin Nautilus Plus with CleverClean, Lakeland Florida

  4. Back To Top    #4
    Shirker's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Location
    Athens, GA - USA
    Posts
    132

    Re: Two Speed Pump?

    Thanks. I had not seen this article but was hoping something like it existed.

    And, yes, I have read about the issues of CYA. I have a TF100 kit but I don't think I am doing the CYA test right (only one attempt so far. I will try again today). The pool store has me at 20, if I recall.

    Thanks for your help, guys. I'm sure you will get more questions from me soon!
    TF-100 | 13.6k gal (24' Round) AG | Chlorine | Sand Filter | Two Speed Motor | Installed June 2014 | Last Opened April 24 2016

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Re: Two Speed Pump?

    The pool stores more often give inaccurate results. Get off the tabs ASAP.

    I run my pump on low for 8-9 hours, overnight. I start it when I'm adding liquid chlorine (around sunset).
    Aaron
    [ Vogue Vectra 24' AG | Hard plumb: Hayward Power-Flo Matrix 1HP 2-speed, 27" sand filter & Pentair MiniMax 100 NG | Taylor K-2006 | Central IL ]
    Powered by: TFP, PoolMath & TFTestkits

  6. Back To Top    #6
    Casey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    SW PA
    Posts
    10,157

    Re: Two Speed Pump?

    Even if your CYA is low, those tabs don't get the chlorine in the pool fast enough. You should be supplementing the tabs with some liquid, if you are sure your CYA level (via TF100) is in fact 20ppm. I would keep testing the CYA weekly until you hit at least 40ppm and stop using them. The pucks will have your pH and TA running on the low side too.

    If you could, you should read:

    ABC's of Pool Water Chemistry
    Recommended Pool Chemicals
    How to Chlorinate Your Pool
    Chlorine CYA Chart

    I too would run your pump on low, even if it is all day. You'll be saving electricity. I want to switch to a 2 speed too.
    I'd bet you my bikini you'll never get TFP water from a pool store!

    24' Sharkline Venture De Filter

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Middlesex County/VA
    Posts
    50

    Re: Two Speed Pump?

    I run mine on low 8 hours on 4 hours off. Its only been on high a few times once to backwash and a few times to circulate chemicals at faster pace.
    Pool Size: 24' Lomart Whispering Wind II 13000 gallons
    Pool Type: Aboveground
    Pump:Hayward 1 1/2 HP Power Flo Matrix 2 Speed
    Filter: Hayward S230T 250lb Sand Filter

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    East TN
    Posts
    309

    Re: Two Speed Pump?

    I run mine on low 4 to 6 sometimes 8 hours a day unless I vacumm or backwash. Sometimes I turn it on high if I want some real current flowing for whatever reason. Your PSI readings are about the same as mine. On high speed the pump shows 16 amps ($$$) and I forget what low is but its a whole lot less.
    18,000 Gallon Aboveground. Sand Filter with 2HP 2 speed Pump.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •