Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Were my pool stairs installed properly?

1. Back To Top    #1

Were my pool stairs installed properly?

Hi everyone. I am new to pool ownership having recently had my first pool installed. It is a steel in-ground pool with a vinyl liner, cantilever coping, and fiberglass (acrylic?) stairs. After having enjoyed the pool for a few weeks, I wonder if the builder might have installed my pool stairs incorrectly. At the junction where the liner meets the stairs, there is a gap where water leaks out whenever there are any waves caused by swimmers. I have attached a couple of photos so you can see what I mean.

What puzzles me is that the stairs are installed beneath the concrete coping, but my stairs have a bulge that sticks out. The bulge seems to be the same shape as the cantilever coping. What is the purpose of this bulge? The liner is held in place by a channel that ends below the bulge because the bulge is in the way. Were the stairs supposed to be installed flush with the deck surface? That is, is the purpose of the bulge to match the coping contour? Or did the builder install the wrong stairs for use with cantilever coping?

It just seems odd that there is a gaping hole were a small amount water leaks out thousands of times per day. Over time this adds up such that A LOT of water leaking below the concrete deck. I suspect this will cause problems over time. I spoke to my builder and he says the installation was normal and correct, and there is nothing to worry about. I am looking for a second opinion. Is he being truthful? Thanks for any help you can offer.

1 pool stairs far view.jpg2 pool stairs close view b.jpg

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Were my pool stairs installed properly?

I'd say that there should be some trim and sealant over that exposed edge.
    Dave J. TFP Moderator