Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Estimating Volume of Roman/Grecian style inground pool

1. Back To Top    #1

Estimating Volume of Roman/Grecian style inground pool

Hello all,

I just recently opened up my brand new gunite/plaster inground pool and have found this site extremely useful. This is my first time owning any type of pool and until I found TFP, I was somewhat terrified of trying to keep the water in good condition since I have zero experience.

I bought and received my TF-100 kit last week, and now feel like I am well on my way to complete control over this watery beast. (My only regret is not ordering the auto-mixer up front.)

Now, onto my question. The only uncertainty I really have at this point is how much water is actually in my pool. It's a standard Roman style pool, meaning it's basically rectangular, but with the corners rounded off to make a half circle on each end of the pool. The dimensions are 18' x 38' with the 38' foot length being from tip to tip of each half circle. The average depth is 5.5' (3' and 8')

Using the PoolMath calculator here, I found that a rectangular pool of these dimensions would have a volume of 28100 gal, while an oval pool would have 26300 gal. So if I were take the average of those two, it'd be just about 27200 gal. Does this estimate seem reasonable?

Please let me know if I left any needed info out for this. Thank you in advance for any help.

FC - 2.5
    CC- 0.5
    TC - 3.0
    pH - 7.2
    TA - 90
    CYA - 10
    CH - 175
    Bor - 0