Newbie here...First tests with K2006

Jun 24, 2014
Navarre, Florida
Ok, so I've been adding a 121oz jug of 8.25% bleach everyday and running the pump consistently on low speed while I've been waiting on my Taylor K-2006 to arrive. It came in today so after the kiddos got out of the pool I ran my tests. I put a jug of bleach in this morning before work, that was the last time anything has been added.

Here are my numbers (I have no idea if I did this right)

FC=.5ppm
pH=8.0
TA=180ppm
CH=20ppm
CYA=0

I plugged these into the pool calculator and I think it's telling me to add:

1) 2 quarts/3 cups of 8.25% bleach
2) 40oz of 31.45% muriatic acid
3) 38lbs of calcium chloride (I have a vinyl AG so do I really need to worry about this? Are there any benefits?)
4) 5lbs 11oz of stabilizer (I purchased Aqua Chem from Lowes. I keep reading about putting this in a sock or something and hanging it in front of the return...can it just be dissolved in a 5 gallon bucket and added all at once?)

If this is correct, should I add all of this at once or do I need to break it up somehow?

I'm also leaving for a two week vacation this Saturday morning. The timing sucks but it's been planned for awhile. What can I do to prevent having a nasty pool when I come home mid July?

Thank you so much for answering my questions. I can't wait to get the hang of this and become self-sufficient!!

In future, please post related questions in the same thread as it allows us to see the history - you have another thread here.

You have a relatively fresh fill - was it municipal water?

For all additions, wait for half hour between each other (except stabiliser - it takes time to dissolve) and leave pump running for at least half hour after addition to allow everything to mix.

Add bleach and muriatic acid in that order.
For muriatic acid, be sure to test pH after the water has been allowed to mix - pH 8 is the max reported by the test and it might be higher.

No benefits of calcium chloride in AG pool.