Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Newbie with problem, Please Help!

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Burlington, VT
    Posts
    2

    Newbie with problem, Please Help!

    I recently put up a Proseries 14'x42" AGP with skimmer and 1000 GP pump. Pool holds approximately 3300 gallons. I had low ph so I wanted to bring it up. I used the Pool calculator and came up with the amount of borax to add to bring the PH up from 7.0 to 7.6. Added it and tested the following morning. The PH was off the chart. In looking at the calculations I found that I forgot to change the gallons on the pool calc from 10K to 3300. So I put in 3 times the amount of borax needed. So to fix I have added 5 oz of HTH ph minus. After about 10 hours tested again the PH was still off the chart with virtually no change. I have since added about another 8 oz's of PH down and am now waiting to test again. My question is after adding all of the borax to the pool will I need a huge amount of PH minus to get the PH back in range?

    Other measures are:

    FC 10
    CC .4
    Ta 100
    cya 40
    All taken with a taylor k2006

    Any input would be appreciated!

    Shawn
    14'x42" Proseries

  2. Back To Top    #2

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,084

    Re: Newbie with problem, Please Help!

    Welcome to the forum.

    Since you discovered your error, have you been using PoolMath to calculate the dosages?
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Richard320's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    San Dimas, CA (LA County)
    Posts
    18,768

    Re: Newbie with problem, Please Help!

    Short answer: yes.

    Once you're above 8.2, everything above reads 8.2. It doesn't change to purple or something. So just keep plugging in 8.2 and target 7.2 and add it. If you make a few passes with the brush to get things mixed well, you can retest and add more acid again in as little as 30 minutes. Once you finally get the color to budge, if it lands somewhere between 7.2 and 7.8, give it a rest for a day, then recheck it.

    When you run out of dry acid, buy liquid Muriatic Acid.
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Burlington, VT
    Posts
    2

    Re: Newbie with problem, Please Help!

    Thanks for the quick replies! Yes the k2006 ph test was red and reading max. I also have freshwater aquariums and have a high ph test kit for Africans. The ph ranged between 8.4-8.6 on that kit. I checked the calc, but wasn't sure if there was an abundance of borax and would take extra ph minus to counter that amount. Kind of what Richard mentioned above. (Thanks again Ricahrd!) Calc said to add 9.3 oz (Using the 8.6 that I got with the aquarium kit on the second day)by weight so started at about 8 to see where that would put me. The numbers that I posted were from last night before adding the minus. I just retested and the ph is at 8 on both kits so I have seen a little movement and feel a bit better. I will wait until the morning and check again and adjust accordingly. Hopefully on the home stretch to recovery!
    14'x42" Proseries

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •