Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: CYA and Old Plaster

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Richardson, Texas
    Posts
    16

    CYA and Old Plaster

    I'm sure everyone's sick of hearing about CYA problems long since, so I will be brief:

    I'm getting reverse osmosis performed today and have switched to sodium hypo for chlorination this past weekend (installed a Liquidator) from trichlor. I've been down this road with high CYA before and did a full water replacement on our 26.5k plaster pool/spa about 5 years ago. Anyway, CYA is again off the charts and I felt reverse osmosis was the way to go.

    So, after the procedure is performed I'm very concerned about the initial load of CYA. The plaster in our pool is really old--at least 15 years, maybe original (22 years); tri-chlor has always been the primary chlorine source. That being said I read in threads on this forum years ago that CYA can leach out of old plaster over time. We're in Texas and have long hot summers. Has anyone found CYA to leach out of plaster in appreciable amounts? I'm trying to determine an initial amount to load the pool with CYA and I don't want to get back in the same boat I'm in now with off-the-charts stabilizer levels...thoughts?

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: CYA and Old Plaster

    That is quite unlikely to be an issue. Personally I don't believe that ever actually happens, but we have had some reports of things that are difficult to explain any other way. Even if it is real, it is quite rare.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3
    Patrick_B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Midland TX
    Posts
    15,001

    Re: CYA and Old Plaster

    I would not let that worry me at all. You can always under dose a little and wait it out. If it's going to happen, it wouldn't take long IMO.
    TFP Moderator
    Essential Links:
    ABC's Of Pool Chemistry, Test Kits, SLAM Your Pool
    28K Gal IG FreeForm, CLI Quartz, Pentair 36"SF & VS Pump, Dolphin M5, Rheem

  4. Back To Top    #4

    In the Industry

    duraleigh's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sebring, Florida
    Posts
    30,077

    Re: CYA and Old Plaster

    I agree with JL and BP. I think that "hiding in the old plaster" idea got started because folks were not getting the CYA drop they expected after a partial drain.

    Over time, I have come to the conclusion that probably was more a matter of simply not draining enough water or a calculation error on how much to drain.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

  5. Back To Top    #5

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Richardson, Texas
    Posts
    16

    CYA and Old Plaster

    Interestingly I just spoke to the owner of the company that is doing the RE on my pool (just started about 30 minutes ago). He said they observe this effect with some frequency; he suggested (without me asking) that I wait a week to measure the stabilizer level and add it following--the CYA level is currently 250. Not sure how I'm going to keep the FC in place in the interim but it's gotta be cheaper than risking another $700 RE process in short order. He did say the process might leave a 10-15PPM residual CYA level, he would test tomorrow to see, so I guess I'll be rolling with that. I'll let you know how it turns out...pools going to need calcium right off the bat so I will probably I use cal-hypo as an FC source the first week, hopefully won't be burning a ton of money on that one!

    Another interesting thing, my phosphate level measured at 2000...I was shocked as I don't use any scale removers and there shouldn't be substantial runoff into the pool. I've never measured that (don't have a test kit that does phosphates), I'm stumped about the source.

    Texas: 26.5k IG plaster pool with hot tub c1992, STA-RITE DES51-01B DE filter, The Liquidator, Polaris 3900 Sport w/Polaris booster, K-2006 test kit w/Lamotte Borates test strips

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Richardson, Texas
    Posts
    16

    Re: CYA and Old Plaster

    Ha that was RO not RE--Reverse Osmosis, whoops!


    Texas: 26.5k IG plaster pool with hot tub c1992, STA-RITE DES51-01B DE filter, The Liquidator, Polaris 3900 Sport w/Polaris booster, K-2006 test kit w/Lamotte Borates test strips

  7. Back To Top    #7
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: CYA and Old Plaster

    Just ignore the phosphate level. My phosphate level is several thousand. Many areas add phosphate to the tap water to help cut down on corrosion.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Richardson, Texas
    Posts
    16

    Re: CYA and Old Plaster

    Good advice, that's my plan. I'll be loading with borates next week anyway.


    Texas: 26.5k IG plaster pool with hot tub c1992, STA-RITE DES51-01B DE filter, The Liquidator, Polaris 3900 Sport w/Polaris booster, K-2006 test kit w/Lamotte Borates test strips

  9. Back To Top    #9

    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    San Rafael, CA USA
    Posts
    12,082

    Re: CYA and Old Plaster

    Quote Originally Posted by TXNDallas View Post
    Another interesting thing, my phosphate level measured at 2000...I was shocked as I don't use any scale removers and there shouldn't be substantial runoff into the pool. I've never measured that (don't have a test kit that does phosphates), I'm stumped about the source.
    It's probably in your fill water. Orthophosphate is sometimes used as a corrosion inhibitor in the water supply. I have 300-500 ppb phosphates in my fill water.

    As Jason says, if you maintain a proper FC/CYA level then you shouldn't need to worry about the phosphate level.
    16,000 gallon outdoor in-ground 16'x32' plaster pool; Pentair Intelliflo VF pump; Pentair IntelliTouch i9+3s control system; Jandy CL-340 square foot cartridge filter
    12 Fafco solar panels; Purex Triton PowerMax 250 natural gas heater (200,000 BTU/hr output); automatic electric pool safety cover; 4-wheel pressure-side "The Pool Cleaner"

  10. Back To Top    #10

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Richardson, Texas
    Posts
    16

    Re: CYA and Old Plaster

    Well processing is finished and they measured the CYA down at 30 and calcium at 140. Going to wait a couple of days and measure again. Those levels are probably good if they stay or don't creep much. TA's down to 50 so I will adjust in a few days after I'm confident of the readings.


    Texas: 26.5k IG plaster pool with hot tub c1992, STA-RITE DES51-01B DE filter, The Liquidator, Polaris 3900 Sport w/Polaris booster, K-2006 test kit w/Lamotte Borates test strips

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •