Testing my pool

Jun 4, 2007
Toronto, Canada
Hi, newbie here, I was asked to post my test levels to help solve my green and cloudy pool.
First of all, the only tests that I have currently are OTO type chlorine test, PH, and Total Alkalinity. And the TA test is from my KH test kit that I use on my fish aquariums.
Last night I added two gallons of Bleach 5.25%
Pool : Vinyl 19790 Gallons IG.
Tested this morning.
Total Chlorine 0.5
PH 7.0
TA 71.6

So obviously I need to do a few things.

I'm also running a Auto Chlorinator thing which has two pucks in it as of last night.
I'm going shopping at lunch time for a large quantity of Baking Soda, Wash Soda and Borax( that is if I can find them) and more bleach.
How much of these chemicals will I need?
I will also be looking for affordable test kits that measure some of the other parameters. Anybody know where in Canada to get these other test kits. Like CYA, FC, etc.

thanks in advance

Siegfried Ziggy

If you added 2 gallons of 5.25% to 19790 gallons of water just last night, you should have gained 5.3 ppm chlorine. With just .5 ppm chlorine remaining this morning indicates algae or organics consuming your chlorine. 32 ounces (by weight) of washing soda should get you to 7.3 pH and 92 total alkalnity. A really good test kit is the Trouble Free kit, which can be found here

Siegfried,
Reading your first post again, I realize now that you do have algae (missed that the first time). You will probably have to add a lot more chlorine. How much is impossible to say without knowing your cyanuric acid level. Assuming zero cyanuric acid, take your free chlorine to 10 ppm and hold as close to that as possible. Check/add chlorine 2-3 times a day if possible. Brush 2-3 times a day also if possible. When the pool doe snot use any chlorine overnight, that would indicate that all the algae is dead. Water should turn milky at or before this point. Keep filtering 24/7 till water clears.