Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: PSI loss in zones, 13 in one zone but 17 in another

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Phoenix
    Posts
    3

    PSI loss in zones, 13 in one zone but 17 in another

    New here, so i hope i post this in the right place.
    I am losing psi as the system changes zones. Starting in the deep end at 17 and ending at the shallow end with 13. I have just replace the gear parts and rubber rings but its still not working right. So the shallow end stays at 13 and never changes . I am a new pool owner for about 5 yrs, so if i missed something just let me know.

    Equipment :
    20k IG plaster chlorined (using Calcium Hypochlorite) pool
    Pump : Pentair IntelliFlo, running at 2500 rps for 10hrs
    Filter : Hayward SwimClear C3030 325 Sqft. I just got it a few weeks ago.
    and the 5 port Caretaker 99 system for the pop-up heads, i think its Polaris

    all parts are 2-3 years old and everything seems to be working, just not this psi thing.
    Also i should point out that the psi in all zones were working correctly before the new filter. I had a sand filter i did not like.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: PSI loss in zones, 13 in one zone but 17 in another

    Welcome to TFP!

    Most likely the in-floor cleaning heads (or possibly the piping, but that is less likely) in the zone with higher pressure are partially blocked.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  3. Back To Top    #3

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Phoenix
    Posts
    3

    Re: PSI loss in zones, 13 in one zone but 17 in another

    How would being partially blocked lower the psi? You would think that it would raise it.

  4. Back To Top    #4
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,482

    Re: PSI loss in zones, 13 in one zone but 17 in another

    So what was the pressure with the old filter? You said everything is working ok but does that include the zone at 17 PSI?

    Sometimes when changing filters, debris can get into the return lines which can be problematic for in-floor heads. Can you remove the heads with the high pressure and clean them out?
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  5. Back To Top    #5
    Melt In The Sun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    3,899

    Re: PSI loss in zones, 13 in one zone but 17 in another

    i think your system works fine. Different lengths of pipe run on different zones is normal, and so your pressure will change as it rotates through the zones. You probably just never noticed before!
    11,200 gal, Pebble-Tec; Tristar 2-speed 1hp - Swimclear 325 ft2 cart - SWG - A & A in-floor cleaner - Heat pump. For the poolside cooking, a Yoder Wichita and a Big Steel Keg!
    TF Test Kits -- PoolMath -- Pool School
    Make each day your masterpiece. - John Wooden

  6. Back To Top    #6

    In the Industry
    malcolmb5325's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    166

    Re: PSI loss in zones, 13 in one zone but 17 in another

    normal operation for the 5 port water valve is between 15 - 19 psi, depending on how many heads per line. If the change has just happened then i would check to make sure all the heads have their nozzles in place. Have you taken the heads out lately? if so did you replace them back in the exact same position? VERY IMPORTANT.
    16,000lts Fibreglass, Magna Mineral Pool Water
    Jandy CV340 Cartridge filter, Zodiac TRi SWC, Z4 iAqualink, Jandy Laminar Jets, Solar Heating, Spa Jets with Jandy 1.5hp Epump operating everything.

  7. Back To Top    #7
    Melt In The Sun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    3,899

    Re: PSI loss in zones, 13 in one zone but 17 in another

    Quote Originally Posted by malcolmb5325 View Post
    if so did you replace them back in the exact same position? VERY IMPORTANT.
    This is completely impossible to maintain and makes no practical difference. Anytime anyone steps on a head, or it doesn't quite pop up all the way because there's a piece of sand in it, they get out of sync. It is not important.
    11,200 gal, Pebble-Tec; Tristar 2-speed 1hp - Swimclear 325 ft2 cart - SWG - A & A in-floor cleaner - Heat pump. For the poolside cooking, a Yoder Wichita and a Big Steel Keg!
    TF Test Kits -- PoolMath -- Pool School
    Make each day your masterpiece. - John Wooden

  8. Back To Top    #8

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Phoenix
    Posts
    3

    Re: PSI loss in zones, 13 in one zone but 17 in another

    I have replaced 2 heads, but that was after the new filter so its still the same.
    Pressure with the old filter was right at 12 psi running the motor at 2600 rpm. I am running it at 2500 now, but all the heads now have standard nozzle insert. They were added after the new filter, so i know that's not it
    I am thinking i might have something off in the new pluming, but i got it a Lessie's so they aren't going to do anything more about it i, asked already.
    I am also thinking that it could just be old heads and they might be leaking, and by this i mean that if one has a small crack in it air can get in the line and now 2 or even 3 zones can be out of whack. I got the house about 5 years ago and i know it was drained when i got it. The heads seem to be about 20 years old, installed in the 90's or 80's maybe.

    Thanks for all the help and please fill free to ask more questions.

  9. Back To Top    #9
    mas985's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Pleasanton, CA
    Posts
    11,482

    Re: PSI loss in zones, 13 in one zone but 17 in another

    Quote Originally Posted by Mr loop View Post
    but all the heads now have standard nozzle insert.
    So what did they have before?

    ANY change to the plumbing will change the pressure so it would not be unusual for the pressure to increase if your are restricting the flow more than you did before. You have a lot of changes going on which makes it very difficult to know for sure if it was something that changed or another type of issue.

    Does the zone that is higher in pressure have the same amount of heads as the other zones?

    Are the heads in the high pressure zone exactly the same as the other zones?

    If all the zones have the same heads and the same number of heads, the pressure of each zone should be about the same.
    Mark
    Hydraulics 101; Pump Ed 101; Pump/Pool Spreadsheets; Pump Run Time Study; DIY Acid Dosing; DIY Cover Roller
    18'x36' 20k plaster, MaxFlo SP2303VSP, Aqualogic PS8 SWCG, 420 sq-ft Cartridge, Solar, 6 jet spa, 1 HP jet pump, 400k BTU NG Heater

  10. Back To Top    #10

    In the Industry
    malcolmb5325's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    166

    Re: PSI loss in zones, 13 in one zone but 17 in another

    Melt in the Sun, you misunderstood me, what i meant was the heads have to go back into its original position as per the original infloor design, otherwise the hydraulic design of the system will change and also the cleaning radius will not work. The rotation positions will of course go out of sync over time and can be easily rotated to put them back in to sync as part of a pool maintenance routine.
    16,000lts Fibreglass, Magna Mineral Pool Water
    Jandy CV340 Cartridge filter, Zodiac TRi SWC, Z4 iAqualink, Jandy Laminar Jets, Solar Heating, Spa Jets with Jandy 1.5hp Epump operating everything.

  11. Back To Top    #11
    Melt In The Sun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    3,899

    Re: PSI loss in zones, 13 in one zone but 17 in another

    OK, yep I see what you mean. If you put the wrong size orifice in, it won't work right. We've had some folks recently saying that the directions have to be in sync...blah blah blah.
    11,200 gal, Pebble-Tec; Tristar 2-speed 1hp - Swimclear 325 ft2 cart - SWG - A & A in-floor cleaner - Heat pump. For the poolside cooking, a Yoder Wichita and a Big Steel Keg!
    TF Test Kits -- PoolMath -- Pool School
    Make each day your masterpiece. - John Wooden

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •