Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: About to be new owner

1. Back To Top    #1

About to be new owner

Hello,

We just bought a house that has a pool. We will be closing escrow very soon. I am not sure if the owner moves out yet but just a little concern if the lapse in pool service is a bad idea.

From you expert here, how long a pool can go without being serviced. I will need to talk to the agent tomorrow as this just came across tonight.

Thanks,
    TT

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Hello newbie here

Welcome to TFP trackstar. It is more than likely that the water in the pool is over saturated from the previous owner's use of Pool Store chemicals and will need special care to bring it back from the abiss even if it looks like the water is clear. Do yourself a favor and order the recommended test kit now so when you move in, you can tackle and issue that arises with the pool, even if it turns green. I would really not fret over it as anything that goes on the pool, chlorine bleach usually fixes. along with partial water drain/refills.

You can look at the kits here Test Kit Comparison. We recommend the TF100 as you will get more reagents for the money than you will with the K2006.

I also highly recommend you read:

ABC's of Pool Water Chemistry
    Recommended Pool Chemicals
    How to Chlorinate Your Pool
    Chlorine CYA Chart
    Recommended Levels
    What is Trouble Free Pool Care?
    PoolMath

These links will surely get you started in the right direction. Please, ask any questions and we'll answer them!
    I'd bet you my bikini you'll never get TFP water from a pool store!

24' Sharkline Venture De Filter

3. Back To Top    #3

Re: About to be new owner

With no automation, the pool will start to cloud after a couple of days. Not sure how fast before it turns green, but probably wouldn't be long.