Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Re: Newbie here - Some ?'s ... jmullen

1. Back To Top    #1

In the Industry

Re: Newbie here - Some ?'s ... jmullen

Split by moderator from HERE as it contradicts our teachings and was not value added to the thread. Please read and learn about what we teach before continuing to provide false information. Thanks, jblizzle

I know bleach is suppose to be the same thing as Chlorine, none the less. If P.H is not within a range of 7.2- 7.6 chlorine and most other chems are not going to work properly, and you won't get a correct test result until the pool's chlorine level has dropped within range. DO you have a vinyl or gunite pool?
    P.H should be 7.2-7.6 your P.H is very low so it's very acidic. Add Alkalinity brush, and then Shock the **** out of the pool, let it run a full 24 hours until checking any chems. you won''t get accurate readings. Wait till the pool is cleared up. Give it a few days and keep it running, baskets empty, and check the filter pressure if its high you'll need to (depending on your filtration) backwash, clean the grids, and then let the pool run until its clear after that, check your chems and balance them to this;
    Alk for gunite is 80 ppm to 120 ppm (vinyl can go up to 150)
    Calcium is 200 ppm to 400 ppm (parts per million)
    Pool chlorine can be from 2-5 ppm.
    CYA should be 30 to 60 ppm, ( old school thought is 60 - 80 ppm) what ever, I think it inhibits the chlorines effectiveness when CYA is too high!
    Spa's are a whole different animal.

2. Back To Top    #2

Welcome to TFP!

Almost every single thing you said contradicts our recommendations. There are so many things wrong here I hardly know where to start. Actually, start with our Reommended Levels article. And after that check out How To SLAM Your Pool.