Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Fine particles in pool and can't get rid of

1. Back To Top    #1

Fine particles in pool and can't get rid of

I am new to TFP as we moved into the house last August. We have several large trees and a creek within a few yard of our pool. The fall and winter were hard on the pool and I tried to keep up with the leaf removal but there were just sooooo many.....

Anyway, I have been trying to get the pool back in balance for a couple of months now. I tried to pool store way and was getting nowhere with a thin wallet fast. I found this website a few weeks ago and started the SLAM method a little over two weeks ago. I have kept the FC above 28 as much as possible with work and life. The lowest it has been is 16 but has been above 20 almost the entire time.

It looks better than it did two weeks ago for sure but there is still a dusting of fine particles in the pool. My numbers (from about 30 minutes ago) are below and I would appreciate any help I can get. I have been scrubbing and vacuuming either every day or every other day over the last two weeks.

FC - 33.5
    CC - 3
    pH - 7.4
    TA - 80
    CH - 260
    CYA - 90

Thanks

BTW, we are in Dallas, TX
    23,000 Gallon - 18x34 In Ground Kidney shaped gunnite - DE Filter - Also a newbie

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Fine particles in pool and can't get rid of

What's the pressure on the DE filter? When was the last time is was cleaned?
    17K Kidney Shaped Pool Concrete (Diamond Bright) Pool, 3/4 hp 2 speed 115V Sta-rite Duraglas PEA5D-180L/P2R5D-181L (Impeller C105-92PS Diffuser C1-216P), 1.5 piping, Pentair CC100 Filter , Heat Siphon 100K BTU Heat Pump Pool Heater, Flow meter Blue White Flowmeter Model No. F-30150P, Hayward Astrolight SP0581N, SWCG CalimarTitanium Edition TE45 , Dolphin Nautilus Plus with CleverClean, Lakeland Florida

3. Back To Top    #3

Pressure about an hour ago was 5. I cleaned and put in new DE about three weeks ago.