Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Acid Demand test

1. Back To Top    #1

Acid Demand test

I received my TF-100 kit this week, and needless to say I am impressed with both the kit and the fast shipping.

However, I've got a quick question. Since I am getting a SWG and it is my understanding that I will be putting acid into the pool quite frequently as a result I was wondering how easy it would be to add a Acid Demand test to accompany my TF-100? Is it just a matter of getting the right reagents? If so then do you carry those reagents? I guess I would also need to know the proper procedures for conducting the acid demand test since I've never done it before.

Thanks in advance for all of the help.
    8200 Gal Vinyl 18' AG Vogue Pool
    150lb Hayward Sand filter with 1-1/2 HP Maxim Pump
    Intex SWG
    Some of the most helpful links for pool owners: Pool School | Pool Calculator | The best test kit | Chlorine/CYA chart

2. Back To Top    #2

In the Industry

Re: Acid Demand test

The acid demand test seems to perform no function that cannot be met with a simple pH Test.

I do not carry the test but I am almost sure it is available seperately from Taylor. Again, it's function is very unclear to me since I know that virtually any swimming pool can be maintained without this test.

Perhaps others can explain a circumstance in which acid and/or base demand tests are useful to the average pool owner.
    Dave S.
    42k vinyl and concrete pool, 1.5hp pump, 140gpm filter
    TFTestkits , PoolMath , Pool School

3. Back To Top    #3

I use it since it's part of my Taylor K-2006 test kit. With the test and the booklet they give you it tells you exactly how much acid to add to get to a specific pH level. It's very useful to me.
    20x40 IG Vinyl, 1.5 HP Whisperflo, Sta-Rite System 3 (300) Sq. ft Cart
    Intellichlor IC40 SWCG, 125,000 BTU Pentair heatpump, Polaris 280