Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Problems with the Taylor K-2006

1. Back To Top    #1

Problems with the Taylor K-2006

I purchased a Taylor K-2006 pool testing kit and I'm having problems with testing the free chlorine. I add the DPD powder to turn the pool water pink and then when I add theFAS-DPD titrating reagent is supposed to turn it clear. When I do this it makes it a dark red. I'm following the directions to a tee. Any ideas why? I have done other tests and they have come out fine.
    My pool is an inground vinyl pool around 32000 gallons. I think the size is 16 x 32. The filter is a sand filter. The pool is around 20 years old. I have been operating it since 2006.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Problems with the Taylor K-2006

Verify you are using the 871 reagent, it should not get darker when you add drops. Does the water turn pink when you add powder?
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL
    If you found TFP helpful and we saved you money ... Become a TFP Supporter!

3. Back To Top    #3

The powder is R-0870. The drops for the FC test are R-0871. After it turns clear, you add the R-0003 reagent to turn it pink again. If you do them out of order, that's probably why things are acting weird.

TF100 instructions, same exact chemicals as your K-2006
    16K freeform gunite with spa; Pentair 4000 DE filter; Century Whisperflow 1 HP; Pentair Minimax heater.
    Troublefree does not mean Maintenancefree. It's like brushing your teeth: You can spend a couple minutes a day and pennies a week or go to the dentist once a year and spend several thousand dollars.
    A pool is like a pet - you have to feed it every day, even the days you don't want to play with it!