Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: 3" Tablet cya math problem.

1. Back To Top    #1

3" Tablet cya math problem.

I've been using Clorox for a couple years now. Had a lot of rain last night and had to drain some water. I forgot to switch the valve from waste to filter, pump was off, I went to work... wife called "pool is 25% empty".. I had forgotten my timer went on an hour after I left. Anyway, my cya is about 10 (maybe). I plan on using 3" pucks in the automatic dispenser to get cya up. How long will I need to run it on "5" in a 15k pool to get cya up to 40?

Also, with cya between zero and 20, does that mean I need almost no chlorine to prevent algae?

IG pebble, 15,000 gallon
    48 PentAir DE Filter with backwash valve
    PentAir Whisperflo pump with 1hp 2-speed motor
    Aquabot 4WD, Poolskim
    Intermatic Dual Timeclock with freezeguard
    DIY chlorine feed
    BBB

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: 3" Tablet cya math problem.

If you were going to run a low CYA level the target would be 3ppm FC but it would all burn off in that hot Texas sun!

I don't really mess with pucks. Haven't touched one since 2006. I use the CYA and the sock and I'm done. No worries on how many pucks can do this in this amount of time and having to play with the pH because it's low due to the puck... Did I mention I hate math? I do!!!
    I'd bet you my bikini you'll never get TFP water from a pool store!

24' Sharkline Venture De Filter

3. Back To Top    #3

Just use PoolMath to see how much CYA each tablet adds and only put that many the feeder. A setting of 5 is meaningless because flow rates vary for each pool.
    Jason, TFP Moderator
    18k IG pebblesheen pool, Hayward ProLogic P4 w/ T-15 SWG, Pentair 1HP 2-speed Superflo, Hayward 6020 DE filter
    500 sqft Heliocol solar panels, ThePoolCleaner, TF-100 test kit w/ SpeedStir
    Pool School + Test Kit + PoolMath = A TROUBLE FREE POOL