Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: Goal: Drop FC by 20+ ppm by Father's Day

1. Back To Top    #1

Goal: Drop FC by 20+ ppm by Father's Day

I'll try to keep this concise as I can.

CYA: 200 ppm (I know, I know. Previous owner was a Leslie devotee and regular dichlor/triclor puck user)
    FC: 45 ppm
    CC: 0

This is my first time opening the pool and never have owned a pool prior to Sept 2013. I have been reading TFP obsessively though.

A little background: I am SLAM'ing the pool taking into account CYA levels, actually went over by a bit. The water is crystal clear just waiting till tomorrow to complete the OCLT. Assuming I pass the OCLT, what are my chances of getting my FC levels down to swimming level on Father's Day? Pool Calc says 15-23 ppm FC is appropriate for my CYA. Forecast is cloudy and thunderstorms on Thurs and Fri. Bright and sunny on Sat. and Sun. Something tells me I'm not going to drop 20 ppm FC between now and Sunday.

I am planning on doing water replacement after Father's Day. Or, do you guys think it's more feasible to do it before Father's Day? My reasoning is to just live with the CYA level until Father's Day and then correct it afterwards because I have very limited time to work on the pool between now and Sunday.

I am looking into Leslie's Chlor Neutralizer to help me out. Is that a bad idea? Thanks guys.
    Pool: 19K IG, Vinyl, grecian
    Equipment: Hayward Super Pump (1hp), Cartridge Filter

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: Goal: Drop FC by 20+ ppm by Father's Day

You know you should have lowered that CYA first----then slammed. But it is what it is at this point and it is safe to swim up to slam level for your cya. How confident are you that it is.........ONLY.........200? That's just a too round fat comfortable number for me to buy. How was it tested?
    16x32x52" Steel Cornelius Miramar AGP Vinyl liner 13,100 gal. Buried 2 ft.