First results after PB did startup - help me to take over

Ale788

LifeTime Supporter
Apr 14, 2014
Houston, Texas
Hello! Love the site!

I'm a complete newbie and have read Pool School and many threads in recent weeks. Unfortunately too late to undo some unnecessary options with the new pool construction :pale:, but anyway, normally the hubby does all house/car/yard maintenance. I thought he would maintain the pool as well. However, ever since I found this site and have been preaching what-to-do and what-not-to-do in that lovely nagging wife tone, it seems to be in my hands. Please help this gal add chemicals for the first time!

6/7 evening - pool filled.

6/9 evening. Startup by PB guy (not the Sup over the build).
Test results just minutes before he started. Nothing added to water yet.
CL - 1
BR - 2
PH > 8.2
CH - 125
TA - 110

He started equipment and dumped stuff in. I don't know what. He gave us the wireless control about 9pm.
Next morning, saw that equipment not running. Breaker tripped, so we turned pump back on.

6/10 evening. Pump running about 12 hours now.
PH - 6.8
Did not test anything else.

6/11 evening. Not sure if I did tests for FC and CC right. What if the water turns completely clear after adding the drop, but then after some moments, it turns slightly pink again? Do you keep adding and counting the drops?
FC - 1.5
CC - 1.0
TC - 2.5
PH - 7.2
CH - 200
TA - 60
CYA - 0

Here is what I have on hand after a run to the store tonight:
Clorox bleach
Arm&Hammer baking soda
HTH stabilizer - 2 containers, 4 lbs each
HTH trichlor 3" tablets - 2 pucks

When I talked to PB Sup today. He said test for chlorine and if needed, add one tablet in each skimmer, if I don't know how to work the chlorinator. And he said I didn't need to do anything else. Wait for pool school.

Should I do as PB said or go ahead and do as pool calculator said?
FC - add 73 oz
CYA - add 75 oz
TA - add 131 oz

Thanks for the help!