Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School
Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Intellichlor Install?

  1. Back To Top    #1

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    12

    Intellichlor Install?

    Plumber added salt cell as seen, manual says to have 12 to 18" of pipe prior to cell for best flow reading. Is this going to cause a problem?saltcell.jpg
    34x18' 18,000 gal in ground pebble, Pentair 3H VS pump, Pentair FNS Plus 60 DE filter, IC40 SWG, Easytouch 8 w/ screenlogic 2.

  2. Back To Top    #2
    Melt In The Sun's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Tucson, AZ
    Posts
    3,899

    Re: Intellichlor Install?

    It potentially could, but i kinda doubt it. Is that a variable speed pump back there? I guess once you fire it up you can see how low an RPM you can run it at before you get a low flow error.
    11,200 gal, Pebble-Tec; Tristar 2-speed 1hp - Swimclear 325 ft2 cart - SWG - A & A in-floor cleaner - Heat pump. For the poolside cooking, a Yoder Wichita and a Big Steel Keg!
    TF Test Kits -- PoolMath -- Pool School
    Make each day your masterpiece. - John Wooden

  3. Back To Top    #3
    JasonLion's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Silver Spring, MD
    Posts
    37,879

    Re: Intellichlor Install?

    The straight pipe thing is a very minor issue. Many people don't bother with that much straight pipe and never have problems.
    19K gal, vinyl, 1/2 HP WhisperFlo pump, 200 sqft cartridge filter, AutoPilot Digital SWG, Dolphin Dynamic cleaning robot
    Creator of PoolMath and Pool Calculator. Other handy links: Support this site, TF Test Kits, Pool School

  4. Back To Top    #4

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    12

    Re: Intellichlor Install?

    Okay thanks, and yes it is a VS pump Melt In The Sun.
    34x18' 18,000 gal in ground pebble, Pentair 3H VS pump, Pentair FNS Plus 60 DE filter, IC40 SWG, Easytouch 8 w/ screenlogic 2.

  5. Back To Top    #5
    elwood58's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Sun City West Arizona (2nd Home)
    Posts
    639

    Re: Intellichlor Install?

    Here is mine, plumbed much like yours. No problem here even at low speed.

    19204 Gallon L Shape with a 10X10 2nd Step Baja Ledge. Intellichlor IC-40, IntellipH, Cartridge Filter, Pentair Heater/Chiller (Heat Pump). Tons of Deck with Deck Jets. Construction Complete 6/5/17.

    "If you don't measure it, you can't manage it!"

  6. Back To Top    #6

    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    South Florida
    Posts
    47

    Re: Intellichlor Install?

    Have you found much use for that hose bib on the return side of the pump? I'm assuming it's to prime the pump without having to open the pump cover but not positive.
    Currently remodeling a 1950's 15x25 14,000+ gallon IG concrete block pool myself. Old galvanized pipes, delaminating plaster, lily pad skimmer, no waterline tile, equipment pad too close to pool, etc. Follow my thread as I chronicle the remodel process.

  7. Back To Top    #7

    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Gilbert, AZ
    Posts
    12

    Re: Intellichlor Install?

    No water in the pool yet, plumber used it to pressure test the system.


    34x18' 18,000 gal in ground pebble, Pentair 3H VS pump, Pentair FNS Plus 60 DE filter, IC40 SWG, Easytouch 8 w/ screenlogic 2.

  8. Back To Top    #8
    Mod Squad pooldv's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    DFW, TX
    Posts
    23,999

    Re: Intellichlor Install?

    Count me as another IC40 owner without 12" of straight pipe in front of it. Also have a 45 right in front of it. It works great, even as low as 1000-1100 rpm on VS pump.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •