Become a TFP Supporter Pool Math Forum Rules Pool School

Thread: New to TFP and looking forward to good times!

1. Back To Top    #1

New to TFP and looking forward to good times!

Hello, I'm new to TFP and I'd just like to add my thanks to you all for a great and much needed website. I bought my first home 10 years ago and yes, it came with a pool. I can only say that I wish I had come across this website 10 years ago. Anyways, on to the fun!

Today I tried the TF-100 test kit for the first time ever after uncovering the pool.
    CYA 20-30 (pool store said 35)
    CH 400-450 (pool store said 390)
    TA 90
    pH 7.8
    Cl 3
    FC 3
    CC .5
    TC 3.5

I suspect I may have to add a bit of conditioner and address the calcium issue. I did notice parts of the waterline tiles were broken and laying at the pool bottom. The water is very clear, no weird odor and a slight yellowing on the bottom deep end. Thanks again...
    Oval In-ground 16x29 / 25,000 gallon (estimated) gunite pool with 3/4 HP pump,
    Anthony "Apollo" DE filter, Keepy Krauly Cleaner and TF-100 Test Kit.

2. Back To Top    #2

Re: New to TFP and looking forward to good times!

Welcome to TFP. Your calcium isn't outrageously high but it's getting up there. I would be very careful not to use any Cal Hypo powdered shocks and stick to unscented bleach. With any rain additions, splash out and recharging the DE filter, you should be able to manage it and get it down a bit without doing a drain/refill.

You do however need to bring down your pH. Get your CYA up and start dosing the pool according to Chlorine CYA Chart. How does your water look?

Congrats on the test kit and a big thanks for reading the forum and filling out your location and pool specs!
    I'd bet you my bikini you'll never get TFP water from a pool store!

24' Sharkline Venture De Filter

3. Back To Top    #3

Welcome!