Slamming/high CYA

Newbie here and I promise I'll fill in my pool particulars as soon as my pucker factor is lower.

20,000gal plaster pool
Sand filter
Recently moved in
Pool built in 85, previous owners not to keen on maintenance
Did the pool store stuff, shocked, algae fighter, HTH shock and swim, clarifier, just to have a couple of good swimming days with company. Ready to get to work, the TFP way.

This morning, Removed about 8" of water, added about 6", but CYA and CH no real change. Not enough, but man I feel guilty about watering my yard holding that huge blue backwash hose in my front yard for an hour.

Followed slam - added 12 gallons 8.75% bleach (Hence the pucker factor)

Measurements this morning before SLAM
pH 7.2
FC 9.5
CC 0.0
TA 190
CH 875
CYA 100 Checked multiple times, won't reach bottom of scale, verified at pool store

Followed SLAM - added 12 gallons 8.75% bleach (Hence the pucker factor)

6 hours later:
FC 47
CC 1.0

Added 2 more gallons of bleach to get to 56ppm an hour ago. Green is slowly turning to white as it should.

Now the questions:

1) If my CYA is high, it will retain the chlorine longer. If I kill the algae quickly, lets say at 40 ppm ( no reduction overnight - stays at 40 from pm to am), will it take forever for the chlorine to get to normal levels?
2) Since my CYA is high, I will not spend any more money on bleach (except for slam levels) that if it were at normal CYA and chlorine levels, correct?
3) So there is no real issue with a high CYA, as long as the chlorine is kept at 7-10 ppm ( as I recall)
4) I understand that the CH level is doable at 875, as long as I keep the pH in the 7.2 range correct?

I do plan on doing a lot of backwashing and adding of water to get both the CYA and CH levels down, but I can live with both, correct?

Lots of questions, but I love the site.

Thanks- Mark

:wave: Welcome to TFP!!!